Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs

1971 Myers Brothers 250

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 34 of 48
Friday, August 6, 1971 at Bowman Gray Stadium, Winston-Salem, NC
250 laps on a 0.250 mile paved track (62.500 miles)

Time of race: 1:23:47
Average speed: 44.792 mph
Pole speed: 55.283 mph
Cautions: 6 for 36 laps
Margin of victory: 3 sec
Attendance: 14000
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1971 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1971 standings

1 249   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola / Rollins Leasing   (Melvin Joseph)'70 Mustang2501000running138
2 143   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'70 Plymouth250600running112
3 314   Jim Paschal Cliff Stewart'70 Javelin249400running0
4 987   Buck Baker Buck Baker'71 Firebird247350running0
51511   Dave Marcis James Rupe'69 Camaro244325running0
61955   Tiny Lund Ronnie Hopkins'69 Camaro243500running0
7 415   Wayne Andrews Reid Shaw'71 Mustang242275running0
82125   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth240270running0
91786   David Ray Boggs David Ray Boggs'71 Firebird238265running0
101830   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Ford238260running0
111610   Bill Champion Bill Champion'70 Ford234255running0
12222   Randy Hutchison Warren Prout'69 Camaro230250running0
131470   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'69 Mercury225245running0
14 544   Ken Rush Johnny Wheeler'69 Camaro117240crash0
151264   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'69 Mercury109235ignition0
16 721   Tommy Andrews Tommy Andrews'69 Mustang103230engine0
17268   Ed Negre Ed Negre'69 Ford97225carburetor0
182506   Neil Castles Neil Castles'70 Dodge94220battery0
192828   Bill Hollar Earl Brooks'69 Ford83215brakes0
202041   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'69 Chevrolet56210overheating0
212996   Richard Childress Tom Garn'70 Chevrolet40205engine0
22 848   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'70 Ford38200steering0
231079   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Dodge18200transmission0
241124   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'69 Mercury13200quit0
252434   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'69 Ford9200clutch0
26 626   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'69 Ford8200transmission0
272773   Jerry Churchill Jerry Churchill'69 Ford3200overheating0
281345   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford1200quit0
292374   Bill Shirey Bill Shirey'69 Plymouth1200quit0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Richard Petty1112112
  Bobby Allison113250138