Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (3)

Crew Chiefs

1967 Firecracker 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 28 of 49
Tuesday, July 4, 1967 at Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, FL
160 laps on a 2.500 mile paved track (400.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:47:09
Average speed: 143.583 mph
Pole speed: 179.802 mph
Cautions: 4 for 43 laps
Margin of victory: 100 yards
Attendance: 46000
Lead changes: 41

Glossary    1967 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1967 standings

1 221   Cale Yarborough Ron's Ford   (Wood Brothers)'67 Ford16015725running30
2 829   Dick Hutcherson Bondy Long'67 Ford1608395running3
3 126   Darel Dieringer Junior Johnson'67 Ford1605905running17
4 717   David Pearson CP   (Holman-Moody Racing)'67 Ford1603525running56
5 471   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'67 Dodge1591950running34
61016   LeeRoy Yarbrough Bud Moore'67 Mercury1581525running0
7116   Bobby Allison Cotton Owens'67 Dodge1581325running5
81248   James Hylton Econo Wash   (Bud Hartje)'65 Dodge1571225running0
91514   Jim Paschal Friedkin Enterprises   (Tom Friedkin)'67 Plymouth1561125running0
101612   Donnie Allison Jon Thorne'67 Ford1551025running0
11 343   Richard Petty Plymouth by Petty   (Petty Enterprises)'67 Plymouth153750running0
122179   Frank Warren Harold Rhodes'66 Chevrolet152800running0
132024   Jack Harden Betty Lilly'67 Ford149575running0
141499   Paul Goldsmith Nichels Engineering   (Ray Nichels)'67 Plymouth144580engine0
152438   Wayne Smith Archie Smith'66 Chevrolet92575engine0
162801   Paul Dean Holt Dennis Holt'67 Ford82570engine0
172676   Earl Brooks Don Culpepper'66 Ford76565engine0
18 637   Sam McQuagg K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'65 Dodge57535wheel bearing1
191787   Buck Baker Buck Baker'66 Ford57530engine0
203434   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'65 Ford41525overheating0
211925   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'67 Ford38520differential0
221864   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley / Henry Woodfield'66 Ford37515engine0
23314   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'66 Ford34530engine0
242292   Bobby Wawak Bobby Wawak'65 Plymouth29580suspension0
252718   Dick Johnson Dick Johnson'67 Ford23525carburetor0
26387   Bobby Johns Shorty Johns'66 Chevrolet22495overheating0
27 911   Mario Andretti Holman-Moody Racing'67 Ford20490crash0
28 53   Buddy Baker Ray Fox'67 Dodge171485suspension14
292346   Roy Mayne Tom Hunter'66 Chevrolet13505engine0
302505   Armond Holley Robert Harper'66 Chevrolet11500transmission0
313545   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'65 Ford6470engine0
321327   A.J. Foyt Banjo Matthews'67 Ford5515wheel bearing0
333968   Gary Bettenhausen Harry Ranier'66 Ford4435crash0
343394   Don Biederman Ron Stotten'66 Chevrolet4455vibration0
353020   Clyde Lynn Clyde Lynn'66 Ford3475engine0
362906   Neil Castles Neil Castles'65 Dodge3470engine0
373697   Henley Gray Henley Gray'66 Ford3440engine0
383752   Jack Etheridge Jack Etheridge'65 Ford2435ignition0
393210   Bill Champion Bill Champion'66 Ford0455engine0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
WDPaul Marino00Paul MarinoPlymouth
WDDon Tarr31Ray FoxDodge
WDKen Spikes62Harold CollinsPontiac

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Buddy Baker155
  Bobby Isaac661
  Buddy Baker793
  David Pearson10101
  Buddy Baker11166
  David Pearson17226
  Bobby Allison23275
  David Pearson28281
  Cale Yarborough29291
  David Pearson303910
  Cale Yarborough40401
  David Pearson41466
  Cale Yarborough47482
  Sam McQuagg49491
  Bobby Isaac505910
  Cale Yarborough60601
  Darel Dieringer61633
  David Pearson64663
  Bobby Isaac67715
  David Pearson72732
  Bobby Isaac748613
  Cale Yarborough87871
  Bobby Isaac88925
  Cale Yarborough93942
  David Pearson95984
  Cale Yarborough991035
  Darel Dieringer1041041
  David Pearson10512319
  Darel Dieringer1241307
  Cale Yarborough1311355
  David Pearson1361394
  Darel Dieringer1401412
  Cale Yarborough1421421
  Darel Dieringer1431442
  Cale Yarborough1451473
  Darel Dieringer1481481
  Cale Yarborough1491513
  Darel Dieringer1521521
  Cale Yarborough1531564
  Dick Hutcherson1571593
  Cale Yarborough1601601