Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs

1961 Indianapolis 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


USAC Champ Car Series race number 2 of 12
Tuesday, May 30, 1961 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Speedway, IN
200 laps on a 2.500 mile paved track (500.000 miles)

Time of race: 3:35:37
Average speed: 139.13 mph
Pole speed: 147.481 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 8.28 sec
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 21

Glossary    1961 USAC Champ Car Series results   /   1961 standings

1 71   A.J. Foyt Bowes Seal-Fast   (George Bignotti)Trevis / Offy200117975running711000
2 112   Eddie Sachs Dean Van Lines   (Al Dean)Ewing / Offy20053400running44800
3 42   Rodger Ward Del Webb's Sun City   (Bob Wilke)Watson / Offy20026500running7700
4187   Shorty Templeman Bill Forbes Racing   (Bill Forbes)Meskowski / Offy20016025running0600
52619   Al Keller Konstant Hot   (Bruce Homeyer)Phillips / Offy20013725running0500
62818   Chuck Stevenson Metal-Cal   (George Salih)Epperly / Offy2009875running0400
73331   Bobby Marshman Hoover Motor Express   (John Wills)Epperly / Offy2009550running0300
8255   Lloyd Ruby Autolite   (Lindsey Hopkins)Epperly / Offy2008750running0250
91317   Jack Brabham Cooper Climax   (Surbiton)Cooper / Climax2007250running0200
103234   Norm Hall Federal EngineeringKurtis / Offy2008250running0150
111528   Gene Hartley John ChalikTrevis / Offy1985820running0100
12 598   Parnelli Jones Willard Battery   (J.C. Agajanian)Watson / Offy19210350running2750
13 697   Dick Rathmann Jim RobbinsWatson / Offy1645580fuel pump0 
141710   Paul Goldsmith Racing AssociatesLesovsky / Offy1605210connecting rod0 
151215   Wayne Weiler Coral Harbor   (Lindsey Hopkins)Watson / Offy1475040wheel bearing0 
163135   Dempsey Wilson Lysle GreenmanKuzma / Offy1454920fuel pump0 
171632   Bob Christie North Electric   (William Tucker)Kurtis / Offy1324850piston0 
181033   Eddie Johnson Jim RobbinsKuzma / Offy1274730crash0 
19 88   Len Sutton Bryant Heating & Cooling   (Pete Salemi)Watson / Offy1104650clutch0 
202252   Troy Ruttman Trackburner   (John Zink)Watson / Offy1056970clutch10 
212041   Johnny Boyd Leader Card   (Bob Wilke)Watson / Offy1054650clutch0 
22 399   Jim Hurtubise Norm DemlerEpperly / Offy10210410piston35 
231986   Ebb Rose Meyer Speedway   (Racing Associates)Porter / Offy934530connecting rod0 
243026   Cliff Griffith McCullough   (Edgar Elder)Elder / Offy554750piston0 
252145   Jack Turner Bardahl   (Fred Gerhardt)Kurtis / Offy525720crash0 
261473   A.J. Shepherd Travelon Trailer   (Ernest Ruiz)Christiansen / Offy514440crash0 
272922   Roger McCluskey Racing AssociatesMoore / Offy514710crash0 
28 914   Bill Cheesbourg Dean Van Lines   (Al Dean)Kuzma / Offy504430crash0 
292783   Don Davis Dart-KartTrevis / Offy494950crash0 
30114   Jim Rathmann SimonizWatson / Offy485270magneto6 
312355   Jimmy Daywalt Schulz Feuling Equipment   (Ollie Prather)Kurtis / Offy274890brake line0 
322416   Bobby Grim Thompson Industries   (Ansted-Thompson Racing)Christiansen / Offy264660piston0 
33 23   Don Branson Hoover Motor Express   (John Wills)Epperly / Offy25080valve0 

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Bob Cleberg6Bell Lines Trucking
Lloyd Ruby9Kelso Auto Dynamics
Paul Russo21Bryant Heating & Cooling
Cotton Farmer23Bardahl
Bob Veith23, 25, 44, 85
Tony Bettenhausen24Stearly Motor Freight
Jim McWithey29Hart Fullerton
Chuck Hulse37Tassi Vatis
Ronnie Duman43Ray Brady
Jack Rounds44, 87Schmidt, M.P.C.
Don Freeland47, 27Joe Hunt Magneto, Chapman
Danny Jones47Joe Hunt Magneto
Bud Tingelstad54Dean Van Lines
Duane Carter61, 94Roy, McCullough
Chuck Arnold62Denver-Chicago Trucking
Russ Congdon69Eelco Custom Shaft
Dick Rathman75Paxton Products
Leon Clum77Dayton Steel Foundry
Bert Brooks79Hall-Mar
Mike Magill82San Diego Steel Products
Jack Ensley84Ansted-Thompson
Don Davis85Federal Engineering
Chuck Weyant88Drewry's
Chuck Rodee89Dunn Engineering
Norm Hall92, 88Concannon Car Co. Flying, Drewry's
Ray Crawford94McCullough

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Jim Hurtubise13535
  Jim Rathmann36416
  Parnelli Jones42443
  Eddie Sachs45517
  Parnelli Jones527524
  A.J. Foyt76838
  Troy Ruttman84885
  A.J. Foyt89891
  Troy Ruttman90945
  A.J. Foyt9512430
  Eddie Sachs12513713
  A.J. Foyt1381381
  Eddie Sachs1391413
  A.J. Foyt1421465
  Eddie Sachs1471515
  A.J. Foyt1521609
  Rodger Ward1611677
  Eddie Sachs1681692
  A.J. Foyt17018314
  Eddie Sachs18419714
  A.J. Foyt1982003