Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 28 of 56
Sunday, June 24, 1956 at Portland Speedway, Portland, OR
200 laps on a 0.500 mile paved track (100.000 miles)

Time of race: 1:35:52
Average speed: 62.586 mph
Pole speed: 65.934 mph
(Pole won by Herb Thomas )
Cautions: 3
Margin of victory: .5 lap
Attendance: 1800
Lead changes: 3

Glossary    1956 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1956 standings

11298   Johnny Kieper Johnny Kieper'56 Oldsmobile200950running169
2181C   Clyde Palmer Tom Roady'56 Dodge200665running0
31456   Lou Sherman Jim Rush'56 Mercury199500running0
41750   Harold Beal Harold Beal'56 Ford199395running0
5 26   Ed Negre Ed Negre'54 Oldsmobile199310running1
61152   Harold Hardesty John Ross'56 Chevrolet198250running0
7161   Art Watts Tom Roady'55 Dodge197200running0
8 4225   Lloyd Dane Lloyd Dane'56 Mercury197150running30
91911   Curley Barker Curley Barker'56 Chevrolet197135running0
101488   Bill Hyde Herb Eberhart'56 Oldsmobile197110running0
1120300B   Herb Thomas Carl Kiekhaefer'56 Chrysler196120running0
121045   Eddie Pagan Eddie Pagan'56 Ford194100running0
13 614   Bob Keefe Harold McClure'56 Ford18750running0
14 571   Ted Sweeney Ted Sweeney'56 Oldsmobile18450running0
15 947   Bob Havemann Bob Havemann'56 Pontiac18050running0
16 877   Gordon Haines Herb Eberhart'56 Dodge17050piston0
171327   Bud Erma Oscar Maples'56 Ford11650rr axle0
18 715   Royce Hagerty Curly Weida'56 Dodge9750o-drive0
19 326   Fred Hunt Fred Hunt'55 Chevrolet3950rr axle0
20 178   Don Porter Nick Porter'55 Studebaker3850axle0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Jay Frank21Joe KeatonFord
George Norton46George NortonChevrolet
Danny Hawk70Whittier Motor SalesDanny HawkStudebaker
Jim Blomgren188Jim BlomgrenFord
Bob Francy352Bob FrancyChevrolet

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Ed Negre111
  Lloyd Dane23130
  John Kieper32200169