Contact Us !
Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Nationwide | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (10)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs  

1972 Winston Western 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results
Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Winston Cup race number 1 of 31
Sunday, January 23, 1972 at Riverside International Raceway, Riverside, CA
191 laps* on a 2.620 mile road course (500.4 miles)

Time of race: 3:45:11
Average Speed: 104.016 mph
Pole Speed: 110.033 mph
Cautions: 3 for 7 laps
Margin of Victory: 61.5 sec
Attendance: 47,200
Lead changes: 9

Glossary    1972 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1972 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
9            Paul Burchard
12   Bobby Allison   Richard HowardChevrolet   Herb Nab
24   Cecil Gordon   Cecil GordonMercury   Lee Gordon
26   Carl Joiner   Dean ThorneChevrolet   Ron Ail
30   Walter Ballard   Vic BallardFord   Vic Ballard
43   Richard Petty   Petty EnterprisesPlymouth   Dale Inman
71   Bobby Isaac   Nord KrauskopfDodge   Harry Hyde
77   Charlie Roberts   Charlie RobertsFord   Steven Gray
88   Don Noel   Don NoelDodge   Don Noel, Jr.
88   Ron Keselowski   Roger LubinskiDodge   Don Noel, Jr.

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!