Contact Us !
Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Nationwide | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (10)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs  

1964 Southern 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Grand National race number 51 of 62
Monday, September 7, 1964 at Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC
364 laps on a 1.375 mile paved track (500.5 miles)

Time of race: 4:15:01
Average Speed: 117.757 mph
Pole Speed: 136.815 mph
Cautions: 7 for 50 laps
Margin of Victory: 2 laps +
Attendance: 65,000
Lead changes: 12

Glossary    1964 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1964 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
0   Frank Graham   Jack AndersonFord   Ralph Gray
1   Billy Wade   Bud MooreMercury   Bud Moore
02   Curtis Crider   Curtis CriderMercury   Robert Laney
3   Buck Baker   Ray FoxDodge   Ray Fox
03   LeeRoy Yarbrough   Ray FoxDodge   Ray Fox
5   Earl Balmer   Cotton OwensDodge   Pops Eargle
06   Cale Yarborough   Holman-MoodyFord   Ralph Moody
6   David Pearson   Cotton OwensDodge   Skip Adams
7   Bobby Johns   Holman-MoodyFord   Wayne Mills
9   Roy Tyner   Roy TynerChevrolet   James Ingram
11   Ned Jarrett   Bondy LongFord   Jim Hilton
16   Darel Dieringer   Bud MooreMercury   Mario Rossi
21   Nelson Stacy   Wood BrothersFord   Leonard Wood
25   Paul Goldsmith   Ray NichelsPlymouth   Louis Clements
26   Bobby Isaac   Ray NichelsDodge   Bud Allman
27   Junior Johnson   Banjo MatthewsFord   Banjo Matthews
28   Fred Lorenzen   Holman-MoodyFord   Herb Nab
34   Wendell Scott   Wendell ScottFord   Wendell Scott
41   Jim Paschal   Petty EnterprisesPlymouth   Maurice Petty
43   Richard Petty   Petty EnterprisesPlymouth   Dale Inman
52   E.J. Trivette   Jess PotterChevrolet   Ted Cook
53   Bob Cooper   Bob CooperFord   Bob Cooper
54   Jimmy Pardue   Charles RobinsonPlymouth   Turkey Minton
60   Doug Cooper   Bob CooperFord   Frank Tanner
68   Bob Derrington   Bob DerringtonFord   Vic Ballard
71   Sam McQuagg   J.L. ThomasFord   J.L. Thomas
76   Larry Frank   Larry FrankFord   Eddie Clark
82   Bunkie Blackburn   Casper HensleyPontiac   W.R. McMahon
86   Neil Castles   Buck BakerChrysler   Jimmy Helms

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!