Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1981 Old Dominion 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 26 of 31
Sunday, September 27, 1981 at Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA
500 laps on a 0.525 mile paved track (262.500 miles)

Time of race: 3:44:57
Average speed: 70.089 mph
Pole speed: 89.014 mph
Cautions: 11 for 72 laps
Margin of victory: 7.8 sec
Attendance: 37000
Lead changes: 14

Glossary    1981 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1981 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
2Joe RuttmanJim StacyBuickDale Inman
3Dale EarnhardtRichard ChildressPontiacKirk Shelmerdine
11Darrell WaltripJunior JohnsonBuickTim Brewer
15Benny ParsonsBud MooreFordBud Moore
21Neil BonnettWood BrothersFordLen Wood
25Ronnie ThomasRonnie ThomasPontiacJabe Thomas
28Bobby AllisonHarry RanierBuickWaddell Wilson
33Harry GantHal NeedhamPontiacTravis Carter
37Tim RichmondBob RogersBuickRaymond Kelly
42Kyle PettyPetty EnterprisesBuickMike Beam
43Richard PettyPetty EnterprisesBuickWade Thornburg
44Terry LabonteBilly HaganBuickJake Elder
47Ron BouchardJack BeebeBuickBob Johnson
64Tommy GaleElmo LangleyFordElmo Langley
66Lake SpeedLake SpeedBuickDarel Dieringer
67Buddy ArringtonBuddy ArringtonDodgeJoey Arrington
71Dave MarcisDave MarcisChevroletClaude Queen
80Wayne MorganWayne MorganFordLarry Morgan
88Ricky RuddDiGardChevroletGary Nelson
90Jody RidleyJunie DonlaveyFordJunie Donlavey
98Morgan ShepherdRon BenfieldPontiacBuddy Parrott

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!