Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1978 Winston Western 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results
Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston West Series race number 1 of 22
Combination race with Winston Cup drivers
An explanation of combination races from The Third Turn External page

Sunday, January 22, 1978 at Riverside International Raceway, Riverside, CA
119 laps on a 2.620 mile road course (311.780 miles)

Time of race: 3:02:55
Average speed: 102.269 mph
Pole speed: 113.204 mph
Cautions: 4 for 17 laps
Margin of victory: 1 sec
Attendance: 70000
Lead changes: 12

Glossary    1978 NASCAR Winston West Series results   /   1978 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
01Jimmy InsoloGerald CrakerChevroletLeon Ruther
08Rick McCrayRick McCrayDodgeKen McCray, Jr.
12Richard WhiteMike WhiteChevroletMike White
32Ray ElderDave HillDodgeBill Morehart
44Gary JohnsonTed ArmstrongChevroletMike Fleming
73Bill SchmittBill SchmittChevroletJim Schmitt

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!