Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1997 Oran Park #2

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


Australian Touring Car Championship race number 29 of 30
Sunday, August 3, 1997 at Oran Park Raceway, Sydney, New South Wales
18 laps* on a 2.620 kilometer road course (47.160 kilometers)

Time of race: 0:18:48.19
Average speed: 133.765 kph
Pole time: no time trials
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 3.61 sec
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 2

Glossary    1997 Australian Touring Car Championship results   /   1997 standings

1 39   Alan Jones Alan JonesKomatsuFord16running4 
2 105   Peter Brock Holden Racing TeamMobilHolden16running0 
3 215   Greg Murphy Holden Racing TeamMobilHolden16running12 
4 525   Tony Longhurst Tony LonghurstCastrolFord16running0 
5 430   Glenn Seton Glenn SetonFord / Ford CreditFord16running0 
6 67   Wayne Gardner Wayne GardnerCoca Cola / Donut KingHolden16running0 
7 934   Steven Richards Garry RogersValvoline / CumminsHolden16running0 
81211   Larry Perkins Perkins EngineeringCastrolHolden16running0 
9 846   John Faulkner John FaulknerFisher & Paykel / Betta ElectricalHolden16running0 
101197   Stephen White Holden Racing TeamMobilHolden16running0 
111527   Terry Finnigan Terry FinniganSony AutosoundHoldenrunning0 
121745   Darren Hossack Gary DumbrellWynns AustraliaHoldenrunning0 
131839   Chris Smerdon Challenge MotorsportHoldenrunning0 
142070   John Briggs Briggs Motor SportFordrunning0 
151916   Melinda Price Perkins EngineeringCastrol CougarsHoldenrunning0 
161310   Mark Larkham Mark LarkhamMitre 10Fordrunning0 
172722   Danny Osborne Colourscan MotorsportFordrunning0 
182226   John Cotter M3 MotorsportHoldenrunning0 
192136   Neil Schembri Gearbox MotorsportHoldenrunning0 
202962   Wayne Russell Novocastrian MotorsportHoldenrunning0 
212477   Richard Mork V8 RacingAustralian Racing Drivers ClubHoldenrunning0 
222641   Garry Willmington Garry WillmingtonFordrunning0 
232579   Mike Conway Cadillac ProductionsFordrunning0 
242335   Claude Giorgi West Coast RacingForddnf0 
25163   Trevor Ashby Lansvale Racing TeamLansvale Smash RepairsHoldendnf0 
261017   Dick Johnson Dick JohnsonShell HelixForddnf0 
27 718   John Bowe Dick JohnsonShell HelixFordmisfire0 
281424   Paul Romano Romano RacingHolden0dnf0 
29288   Russell Ingall Perkins EngineeringCastrolHolden0crash0 
* Race shortened to 16 laps due to red flag.

Fastest Lap: 60.094 seconds by Alan Jones

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
WDRussell Ingall8CastrolPerkins EngineeringHolden
WDJohn Trimbole47CBD-BottlemagicDaily Planet RacingHolden

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Greg Murphy11212
  Alan Jones13164