Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1972 Rebel 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 8 of 31
Sunday, April 16, 1972 at Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC
293 laps on a 1.366 mile paved track (400.238 miles)

Time of race: 3:13:00
Average speed: 124.406 mph
Pole speed: 148.209 mph
Cautions: 5 for 37 laps
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: 45300
Lead changes: 14

Glossary    1972 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1972 standings

1 121   David Pearson Purolator   (Wood Brothers)'71 Mercury29316850running202
2 343   Richard Petty STP   (Petty Enterprises)'72 Plymouth29210375running27
31518   Joe Frasson Mario Frasson Cement Co.   (Joe Frasson)'71 Dodge2855475running0
4 972   Benny Parsons Pop Kola   (L.G. DeWitt)'71 Mercury2844675running0
51048   James Hylton Pop Kola   (James Hylton)'71 Ford2812875running0
61267   Buddy Arrington Buddy Arrington'71 Dodge2791725running0
7 212   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Richard Howard)'72 Chevrolet2783520running29
8224   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Air   (J. Marvin Mills)'70 Plymouth2771770running0
92725   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth2751710running0
101124   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'71 Mercury2741620running0
113010   Bill Champion Bill Champion'71 Ford2691545running0
12197   Dean Dalton Dean Dalton'71 Mercury269995running0
132664   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'71 Ford2621470running0
143647   Raymond Williams Raymond Williams'71 Ford262945running0
152877   Charlie Roberts Charlie Roberts'71 Ford261920running0
16 531   Jim Vandiver O.L. Nixon'70 Dodge260870engine6
172176   Ben Arnold Ben Arnold'71 Ford258845running0
182330   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Mercury2581320running0
193470   J.D. McDuffie With God, You're Always a Winner!   (J.D. McDuffie)'71 Chevrolet2551270running0
20 711   Buddy Baker STP   (Petty Enterprises)'72 Dodge2421245engine27
213379   Frank Warren Frank Warren'70 Dodge2221220oil pan0
221390   Jackie Oliver Truck Equipment Corporation   (Junie Donlavey)'72 Ford2051320crash0
233523   Bill Dennis Don Robertson'70 Plymouth196670engine0
24248   Ed Negre Ed Negre'70 Dodge1781210rear end0
25182   Dave Marcis IHRA Drag Races   (Dave Marcis)'70 Dodge1541145handling0
26 815   LeeRoy Yarbrough Bud Moore'72 Ford145630valve1
273100   Bobby Mausgrover American Jetway Corp.   (Bobby Mausgrover)'70 Dodge129620brakes0
28 471   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'71 Dodge76610piston1
29 628   Fred Lorenzen Lemon Tree Inn   (Hoss Ellington)'72 Ford46605engine0
301493   Buck Baker Harold Furr'70 Chevrolet45650clutch0
312906   Neil Castles Neil Castles'70 Dodge431095oil leak0
322553   H.B. Bailey Hopper-Crews   (J.C. Crews)'72 Ford41665ignition0
331692   Larry Smith Harley Smith'71 Ford36585suspension0
341719   Henley Gray Henley Gray'72 Ford251080oil pressure0
352066   Dick Brooks Blank & Kalashian   (Vernon Blank)'71 Pontiac21575brakes0
363249   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'70 Plymouth7570oil pressure0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Dub Simpson51Bill StrongChevrolet
Bill Shirey74Bill ShireyPlymouth

Caution flag breakdown:
# Of
33375   #92 spun turn 3 
475610   #28 oil turn 4 
1992068   #23 engine 
2092157   #90 accident turn 4 
2452517   #11 accident turn 1 
  Percent of race run under caution: 12.6%             Average green flag run: 42.7 laps

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Allison133
  David Pearson496
  Bobby Allison103324
  LeeRoy Yarbrough34341
  Richard Petty354713
  Bobby Isaac48481
  Jim Vandiver49546
  Bobby Allison55551
  David Pearson566914
  Buddy Baker709627
  David Pearson9718589
  Bobby Allison1861861
  Richard Petty18720014
  David Pearson20129393