Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1972 Gwyn Staley 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 9 of 31
Sunday, April 23, 1972 at North Wilkesboro Speedway, North Wilkesboro, NC
400 laps on a 0.625 mile paved track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:53:19
Average speed: 86.381 mph
Pole speed: 107.506 mph
Cautions: 5 for 45 laps
Margin of victory: 2.0 sec
Attendance: 16000
Lead changes: 17

Glossary    1972 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1972 standings

1 343   Richard Petty STP   (Petty Enterprises)'72 Plymouth4006600running84
2 212   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Richard Howard)'72 Chevrolet4004375running79
3 171   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'72 Dodge4003950running237
41048   James Hylton Pop Kola   (James Hylton)'70 Ford3921550running0
5 572   Benny Parsons L.G. DeWitt'70 Mercury3921200running0
61745   LeeRoy Yarbrough Bill Seifert'71 Ford390900running0
7 62   Dave Marcis Dave Marcis'70 Dodge390875running0
81192   Larry Smith Harley Smith'71 Ford384575running0
91930   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Mercury382805running0
10234   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Air   (J. Marvin Mills)'70 Plymouth381820running0
112251   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'70 Chevrolet372560running0
121347   Raymond Williams Raymond Williams'71 Ford365525running0
13 806   Neil Castles Neil Castles'71 Dodge365790running0
141491   Richard D. Brown Ralph McNabb'72 Chevrolet364530running0
15307   Dean Dalton Dean Dalton'71 Mercury359495running0
162977   Charlie Roberts Charlie Roberts'70 Ford357485running0
172719   Henley Gray Henley Gray'70 Ford354725running0
18 424   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'71 Mercury354740running0
192476   Ben Arnold Ben Arnold'71 Ford352480running0
202179   Frank Warren Frank Warren'70 Plymouth347695running0
211293   Buck Baker Furr Engineering   (Harold Furr)'71 Chevrolet332485running0
22208   Ed Negre Ed Negre'70 Dodge283675ignition0
231510   Bill Champion Bill Champion'71 Ford256690engine0
241864   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'71 Ford125655crash0
252870   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'71 Chevrolet121670engine0
26 731   Jim Vandiver O.L. Nixon'70 Dodge111415engine0
272696   Richard Childress Richard Childress'72 Chevrolet93380transmission0
28 925   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth71620engine0
292513   Eddie Yarboro Eddie Yarboro'70 Plymouth42360engine0
301623   Bill Dennis Don Robertson'70 Plymouth14375vibration0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Bobby Mausgrover00Bobby MausgroverDodge
Earl Brooks26Earl BrooksFord
G.C. Spencer49G.C. SpencerPlymouth

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Isaac17070
  Bobby Allison718515
  Bobby Isaac86927
  Bobby Allison93931
  Bobby Isaac94952
  Bobby Allison9611722
  Bobby Isaac11819174
  Bobby Allison19220110
  Bobby Isaac2022021
  Bobby Allison20321210
  Bobby Isaac2132164
  Bobby Allison2172171
  Bobby Isaac21824932
  Bobby Allison25026920
  Bobby Isaac27030839
  Richard Petty30936759
  Bobby Isaac3683758
  Richard Petty37640025