Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1971 Southeastern 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 9 of 48
Sunday, March 28, 1971 at Bristol International Speedway, Bristol, TN
500 laps on a 0.533 mile paved track (266.500 miles)

Time of race: 2:52:23
Average speed: 91.704 mph
Pole speed: 105.525 mph
Cautions: 5 for 45 laps
Margin of victory: 4 sec
Attendance: 25000
Lead changes: 9

Glossary    1971 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1971 standings

1 117   David Pearson Purolator Special   (Holman-Moody Racing)'71 Ford5006120running133
2 243   Richard Petty Southern Chrysler Plymouth   (Petty Enterprises)'71 Plymouth5003570running233
3 722   Dick Brooks Golden Products   (Mario Rossi)'70 Dodge4892245running2
4 312   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Bobby Allison)'71 Dodge4871320running78
5 472   Benny Parsons L.G. DeWitt'70 Ford4851045running0
6 839   Friday Hassler Friday Hassler'69 Chevrolet483845running0
7 564   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'69 Mercury469795running0
81825   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth448670running0
91619   Henley Gray Henley Gray'69 Ford443620running0
103006   Neil Castles Neil Castles'70 Dodge439595running0
11102   Dave Marcis Dave Marcis'69 Dodge413580overheating0
122579   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Plymouth398545running0
13174   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Cooling   (John Sears)'69 Dodge367535transmission0
141124   Cecil Gordon Casa Linda Motel   (Cecil Gordon)'69 Mercury366525engine0
152434   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'69 Ford340515engine0
162826   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'69 Ford267505transmission0
171995   Paul Tyler Paul Tyler'69 Ford248495rear end0
182658   Robert Brown Allan Brown'71 Chevrolet228485oil leak0
19 948   James Hylton Mullins Ford / Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'70 Ford180500crash54
202145   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'70 Ford152465ignition0
212967   Dick May Ron Ronacher'69 Ford130455oil leak0
221510   Bill Champion Bill Champion'69 Ford111445crash0
23147   Ed Negre Dean Dalton'69 Ford106435crash0
242068   Larry Baumel Auto Lad   (Allan Schlauer)'69 Ford92425engine0
252230   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Ford60415overheating0
261374   Bill Shirey Bill Shirey'69 Plymouth58410engine0
27 649   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'69 Plymouth47425crash0
281288   Ron Keselowski Roger Lubinski'70 Dodge32390ignition0
292341   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'69 Chevrolet32380overheating0
302770   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'71 Chevrolet18370oil line0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Ed Negre8Ed NegreFord
Eddie Yarboro13Eddie YarboroPlymouth
Paul Dean Holt23Noel WickerFord
Bill Hollar28Earl BrooksFord
Raymond Bostic52James CottrellFord

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  David Pearson14848
  Bobby Allison496921
  James Hylton70701
  Bobby Allison7112757
  James Hylton12818053
  Dick Brooks1811822
  Richard Petty183331149
  David Pearson3323365
  Richard Petty33742084
  David Pearson42150080