Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1971 Sandlapper 200

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 38 of 48
Friday, August 27, 1971 at Columbia Speedway, Cayce, SC
200 laps on a 0.500 mile paved track (100.000 miles)

Time of race: 1:34:24
Average speed: 64.831 mph
Pole speed: 85.137 mph
Cautions: 6 for 41 laps
Margin of victory: 10 cl
Attendance: 8000
Lead changes: 6

Glossary    1971 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1971 standings

1 143   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'70 Plymouth2001500running110
2 355   Tiny Lund Ronnie Hopkins'69 Camaro200900running64
3 414   Jim Paschal Cliff Stewart'70 Javelin200500running15
4 648   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'70 Ford197350running0
52125   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth196325running0
6 515   Wayne Andrews Reid Shaw'71 Mustang196300running0
71064   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'71 Ford194275running0
81430   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Ford193270running0
9112   Randy Hutchison Warren Prout'69 Camaro193265running0
102341   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'69 Chevrolet190260running0
111810   Bill Champion Bill Champion'70 Ford189255running0
121234   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'69 Ford186250running0
13 924   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'69 Mercury182245running0
14134   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Cooling   (John Sears)'69 Dodge179240running0
153073   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford179235running0
16 774   Bill Shirey Bill Shirey'69 Plymouth178230running0
17 887   Buck Baker Buck Baker'71 Firebird165225running0
18157   Jimmy Vaughn Jimmy Vaughn'69 Camaro162220crash0
192470   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'69 Mercury159215crash0
202079   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Plymouth152210steering0
21258   Ed Negre Ed Negre'69 Ford143205ignition0
221917   Ernie Shaw Ernie Shaw'68 Mustang109200clutch0
232640   D.K. Ulrich D.K. Ulrich'70 Ford68200brakes0
24 236   H.B. Bailey H.B. Bailey'71 Firebird55200crash11
252986   Bobby Mausgrover Neil Castles'69 Dodge51200hub0
261726   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'69 Ford21200overheating0
272896   Richard Childress Tom Garn'70 Chevrolet17200overheating0
281619   Henley Gray Henley Gray'69 Ford12200engine0
292732   Marv Acton Dick Brooks'70 Plymouth11200ignition0
302262   Ron Keselowski Kaye Engineering   (John Keselowski)'71 Dodge0200crash0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
David Ray Boggs
Al Straub

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Richard Petty111
  H.B. Bailey21211
  Richard Petty135139
  Jim Paschal526615
  Richard Petty6712357
  Tiny Lund12418764
  Richard Petty18820013