Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1971 Delaware 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Winston Cup race number 43 of 48
Sunday, October 17, 1971 at Dover Downs International Speedway, Dover, DE
500 laps on a 1.000 mile paved track (500.000 miles)

Time of race: 4:03:25
Average speed: 123.254 mph
Pole speed: 132.811 mph
Cautions: 2 for 9 laps
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: 18000
Lead changes: 3

Glossary    1971 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1971 standings

1 443   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'71 Plymouth50014570running101
2 398   Charlie Glotzbach Richard Howard'71 Chevrolet4997945running5
3 271   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'71 Dodge4994970running0
4 112   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Holman-Moody Racing)'69 Mercury4982695running394
51290   Bill Dennis Junie Donlavey'69 Mercury4831595running0
61057   David Ray Boggs David Ray Boggs'69 Dodge4801295running0
7 691   Richard D. Brown Junior Fields'71 Chevrolet4771195running0
81764   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'69 Mercury4761095running0
91830   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Ford4731070running0
10 748   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Mercury4661045running0
11 924   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'69 Mercury4651020running0
121195   Paul Tyler Paul Tyler'69 Ford464995running0
131479   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Dodge460970running0
142647   Raymond Williams Raymond Williams'71 Ford459945running0
15198   Ed Negre Ed Negre'69 Ford458920running0
162919   Henley Gray Henley Gray'69 Ford442895running0
173908   John Soares, Jr. John Soares, Jr.'69 Dodge440870running0
181625   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth436860fuel pump0
193540   Dick May D.K. Ulrich'71 Ford436855running0
202834   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'69 Ford392845clutch0
21384   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Cooling   (John Sears)'69 Dodge374835running0
222006   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge369810alternator0
233603   Tommy Gale Larry Jackson'69 Mercury319785engine0
243741   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'69 Chevrolet297760rear end0
253374   Bill Shirey Bill Shirey'69 Plymouth280735engine0
263170   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'69 Mercury266710overheating0
271510   Bill Champion Bill Champion'69 Ford266685steering0
28 560   Maynard Troyer Nagle Racers   (Joe Nagle)'69 Mercury266695wheel bearing0
292272   Benny Parsons L.G. DeWitt'69 Mercury229705engine0
30255   Richard Childress Doc Faustina'70 Plymouth180645steering0
312199   Fred Lorenzen STP   (Ray Nichels)'71 Plymouth115705engine0
322726   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'69 Ford115620oil pan0
33 839   Friday Hassler Friday Hassler'70 Chevrolet114610engine0
342349   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'69 Plymouth102625axle0
353068   Larry Baumel Auto Lad   (Allan Schlauer)'69 Ford91590overheating0
364023   James Cox Don Robertson'69 Plymouth87580engine0
37131   Charlie Roberts Charlie Roberts'69 Ford68570crash0
383445   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford62560frame0
392451   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'69 Chevrolet26550oil pan0
40327   Dean Dalton Dean Dalton'69 Ford10540oil leak0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Allison1142142
  Charlie Glotzbach1431475
  Bobby Allison148399252
  Richard Petty400500101