Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1970 Virginia 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 18 of 48
Sunday, May 31, 1970 at Martinsville Speedway, Martinsville, VA
500 laps* on a 0.525 mile paved track (262.500 miles)

Time of race: 2:53:20
Average speed: 68.584 mph
Pole speed: 82.609 mph
(Pole won by Donnie Allison )
Cautions: 7 for 46 laps
Margin of victory: under caution
Attendance: 1700
Lead changes: 4

Glossary    1970 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1970 standings

1 271   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'69 Dodge37710795running223
2 322   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Bobby Allison)'69 Dodge3775140running84
3 421   Cale Yarborough 60 Minute Cleaners   (Wood Brothers)'70 Mercury3763100running51
4 798   David Pearson Jim Robbins Special   (Junior Johnson)'70 Ford3751525running0
5 932   Dick Brooks Dick Brooks'69 Plymouth3731025running0
61849   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'69 Plymouth3701000running0
71048   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Ford369875running0
81925   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'69 Plymouth365825running0
91354   Bill Dennis Bill Dennis'69 Chevrolet363800running0
101724   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'68 Ford359775running0
112110   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford358790running0
122734   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'69 Ford357755running0
13234   John Sears John Sears'69 Dodge356745running0
143262   Ron Keselowski Kaye Engineering   (John Keselowski)'69 Dodge355735running0
153547   Raymond Williams Bill Seifert'68 Ford352725running0
162576   Ben Arnold Ben Arnold'69 Ford337715running0
172919   Henley Gray Henley Gray'69 Ford333705running0
181579   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Plymouth329695running0
19125   Buddy Arrington Buddy Arrington'69 Dodge273685head gasket0
202646   Roy Mayne Tom Hunter'69 Chevrolet231675running0
213370   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'69 Buick141665engine0
221106   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge132655rear end0
23288   Ed Negre Ed Negre'69 Ford116645ignition0
241464   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'69 Ford112635oil pan0
253623   James Cox Don Robertson'69 Plymouth110625engine0
26 127   LeeRoy Yarbrough Sunny King Ford   (Banjo Matthews)'70 Ford102700clutch19
273777   John Kenney Bob Freeman'68 Ford99605brakes0
282245   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford74595brakes0
293467   Dick May Ron Ronacher'69 Ford73685oil leak0
302474   Bill Shirey Bill Shirey'69 Plymouth61575transmission0
313104   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'69 Chevrolet51570brakes0
322051   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'69 Chevrolet37565ignition0
33 530   Dave Marcis Dave Marcis'69 Dodge37560transmission0
343992   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'69 Pontiac35555engine0
351657   Johnny Halford Ervin Pruitt'69 Dodge30550engine0
36 639   Friday Hassler James Hanley'69 Chevrolet22545engine0
373026   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'69 Ford19535overheating0
38 872   Benny Parsons L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford19535overheating0
393833   Wayne Smith Wayne Smith'69 Chevrolet18530brakes0
* Race shortened to 377 laps due to rain.

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
WDRichard Petty43Petty EnterprisesPlymouth

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  LeeRoy Yarbrough11919
  Bobby Isaac2010788
  Cale Yarborough10815851
  Bobby Allison15924284
  Bobby Isaac243377135