Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs

1970 Symmons Plains

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


Australian Touring Car Championship race number 7 of 7
Sunday, November 15, 1970 at Symmons Plains Raceway, Launceston, Tasmania
40 laps on a 2.410 kilometer road course (96.400 kilometers)

Time of race: n/a
Average speed: n/a
Pole time: 63.1 seconds
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1970 Australian Touring Car Championship results   /   1970 standings

1 33   Jim McKeown Shell Racing TeamShellPorsche 911S40running40
2 417   Bryan Thomson Bryan ThomsonChevrolet Camaro39running0
3 26   Bob Jane Shell Racing TeamShellFord Mustang38running0
4 5    Robin Pare Ford Mustangrunning0
5 6    Tony Calvert Ford Mustangrunning0
6 82   Peter Manton Shell Racing TeamShellMorris Cooper S 1310running0
7 9    Robin Bessant Morris Cooper S 1310running0
8 7    Garth Wigston Ford Escort Twin Cam Mk1running0
910    Bob Kent Morris Cooperrunning0
1011    Colin Noble Ford Falcon 2.8running0
1113    Robert Davies Toyota Corolla30dnf0
1212    Tony Watts Morris Cooper 129312dnf0
1314    Bill Evans Toyota Corolla6dnf0
14 19   Allan Moffat Allan MoffatFord Falcon XW GT-HO Phase II0did not start0
15154   Norm Beechey Shell Racing TeamShellHolden Monaro HT GTS3500did not start0

Fastest Lap: 67.100 seconds by Jim McKeown

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
WDBob JaneChevrolet Camaro
WDAllan MoffatCoca-ColaAllan MoffatFord Mustang Boss 302

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Jim McKeown14040