Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs

1970 Gwyn Staley 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 11 of 48
Saturday, April 18, 1970 at North Wilkesboro Speedway, North Wilkesboro, NC
400 laps on a 0.625 mile paved track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:38:41
Average speed: 94.246 mph
Pole speed: 107.041 mph
Cautions: 3 for 21 laps
Margin of victory: 1.5 laps
Attendance: 11500
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1970 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1970 standings

11643   Richard Petty Southern Chrysler & Plymouth   (Petty Enterprises)'70 Plymouth4006025running349
2 171   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'69 Dodge3993725running51
3 398   LeeRoy Yarbrough Junior Johnson'70 Ford3992350running0
4 448   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Ford3961500running0
5 632   Dick Brooks Best Line Products   (Dick Brooks)'69 Plymouth3941250running0
61722   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Don Robertson)'69 Plymouth3881025running0
7 745   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford379975running0
81264   Elmo Langley Woodfield Ford   (Elmo Langley)'68 Ford379925running0
9 924   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'68 Ford377930running0
101154   Bill Dennis Bill Dennis'69 Chevrolet374895running0
111937   Don Tarr Coca-Cola   (Don Tarr)'69 Dodge374910running0
121351   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'69 Chevrolet374895running0
132279   Frank Warren Frank Warren'69 Plymouth371890running0
142110   Bill Champion Bill Champion'69 Ford370880running0
152039   Friday Hassler James Hanley'69 Chevrolet366845running0
162847   Raymond Williams Bill Seifert'68 Ford362835running0
173062   Ron Keselowski Kaye Engineering   (John Keselowski)'69 Dodge347825running0
18244   Neil Castles John Sears'69 Dodge345850running0
191419   Henley Gray Henley Gray'69 Ford313830quit0
20 530   Dave Marcis Goodyear / Lunda Construction   (Dave Marcis)'69 Dodge295820engine0
21 825   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'69 Plymouth295810axle0
22 227   Donnie Allison Banjo Matthews'70 Ford236825engine0
232704   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'68 Chevrolet235765transmission0
241534   Wendell Scott Ford   (Wendell Scott)'69 Ford234755engine0
252557   Johnny Halford Ervin Pruitt'69 Dodge217770clutch0
26298   Ed Negre Ed Negre'69 Ford95740engine0
27235   Larry Manning Buddy Arrington'69 Dodge83755ignition0
281872   Benny Parsons L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford48745rear end0
292676   Ben Arnold Ben Arnold'69 Ford36710engine0
301049   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'69 Plymouth32725engine0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Neil Castles06Neil CastlesDodge
Dick May67Ron RonacherFord
J.D. McDuffie70J.D. McDuffieBuick
Bill Shirey74Bill ShireyPlymouth

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Isaac15151
  Richard Petty52400349