Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1970 Calder Park

Previous race results
Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


Australian Touring Car Championship race number 1 of 7
Sunday, March 22, 1970 at Calder Park Thunderdome, Melbourne, Victoria
50 laps on a 1.610 kilometer road course (80.500 kilometers)

Time of race: 0:41:57.00
Average speed: 115.137 kph
Pole time: 53.6 seconds
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 7 sec
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 4

Glossary    1970 Australian Touring Car Championship results   /   1970 standings

1 19   Allan Moffat Allan MoffatCoca-ColaFord Mustang Boss 30250running
2 48   Brian Foley Chesterfield FilterPorsche 911S50running
3 93   Jim McKeown Shell Racing TeamShellPorsche 911S50running
4 27   Bob Jane Shell Racing TeamShellFord Mustang49running
510    Bob Brown Morris Cooper S49running
61434   Bill Fanning Ian Hindmarsh MotorsFord Cortina Lotus Mk149running
7 8    Barrie Broomhall Morris Cooper S49running
8124   Norm Beechey Shell Racing TeamShellHolden Monaro HT GTS35049running
921    Norm Watts Ford Cortinarunning
1016    Bruce Rae Holden Monaro HT GTS350running
1111    Ted Brewster Morris Cooper Srunning
1215    Robert Wilson Morris Cooper Srunning
1320    Anthony Bishop Morris Cooper Srunning
14 52   Peter Manton Shell Racing TeamShellMorris Cooper Srunning
15 6    Jim Smith Morris Cooperrunning
1613    Garry Rogers Holdenrunning
171842   Malcolm Brewster Morris Cooperrunning
18 7    Richard Knight Ford Escortdnf
19 31   Ian Geoghegan Geoghegan's Sporty CarsFord Mustangaxle
2017    Lawrie Nelson Holden Monarodnf
2119    Andrew McComb Ford Escortdnf

Fastest Lap: 47.700 seconds by Norm Beechey