Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1969 Wilkes 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 47 of 54
Sunday, October 5, 1969 at North Wilkesboro Speedway, North Wilkesboro, NC
400 laps on a 0.625 mile paved track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:40:32
Average speed: 93.429 mph
Pole speed: 106.032 mph
Cautions: 3 for 23 laps
Margin of victory: 1 cl
Attendance: 11000
Lead changes: 6

Glossary    1969 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1969 standings

1 217   David Pearson Holman-Moody Racing'69 Ford4005750running5
2 343   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'69 Ford4003000running270
3 171   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'69 Dodge3992075running121
4 698   LeeRoy Yarbrough Junior Johnson'69 Ford3971125running0
5 46   Buddy Baker Cotton Owens'69 Dodge396875running4
6 730   Dave Marcis Milt Lunda'69 Dodge394625running0
7 514   Richard Brickhouse Bill Ellis'69 Dodge394600running0
8 832   Dick Brooks Dick Brooks'69 Plymouth393575running0
91049   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'67 Plymouth392580running0
101148   James Hylton James Hylton'68 Dodge391545running0
112106   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge390660running0
12178   J.D. McDuffie G.C. Spencer'67 Plymouth380525running0
131431   Buddy Young Fred Bear'67 Chevrolet377515running0
14239   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'69 Pontiac375530running0
152647   Cecil Gordon Bill Seifert'68 Ford375495running0
161264   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'68 Ford372485running0
172076   Ben Arnold Don Culpepper'68 Ford365475running0
182445   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'69 Ford365465running0
192834   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'67 Ford355455running0
202551   Dub Simpson Bill Strong'69 Chevrolet304445engine0
211325   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'68 Plymouth298435running0
222981   E.J. Trivette G.C. Spencer'67 Plymouth224425engine0
231810   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford221415clutch0
241957   Johnny Halford Ervin Pruitt'69 Dodge190405axle0
251520   Clyde Lynn Clyde Lynn'67 Ford170395oil leak0
263026   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'67 Ford161390no tires0
271667   Buddy Arrington Buddy Arrington'69 Dodge149380throttle0
282719   Henley Gray Harry Melton'68 Ford71370quit0
29 94   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford24435brakes0
302233   Wayne Smith Archie Smith'68 Chevrolet2425engine0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Frank Warren0Don TarrChevrolet
Ken Meisenhelder04Ken MeisenhelderOldsmobile
E.J. Trivette08E.C. ReidChevrolet

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Isaac1121121
  Richard Petty1221254
  Buddy Baker1261294
  Richard Petty130389260
  David Pearson3903901
  Richard Petty3913966
  David Pearson3974004