Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1969 Thompson 200

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 30 of 54
Thursday, July 10, 1969 at Thompson Speedway, Thompson, CT
200 laps on a 0.625 mile paved track (125.000 miles)

Time of race: 1:23:08
Average speed: 89.498 mph
Pole speed: 99.8 mph
Cautions: 2 for 13 laps
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: 12000
Lead changes: 4

Glossary    1969 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1969 standings

1 117   David Pearson East Tenn. Motor Co.   (Holman-Moody Racing)'69 Ford2002200running98
2 348   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Dodge1991500running7
3 44   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'68 Ford1991000running0
4 749   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'68 Plymouth197900running0
5 503   Richard Brickhouse Dub Clewis'67 Plymouth193800running0
6 906   Neil Castles Neil Castles'67 Plymouth193700running0
7 831   Buddy Young Fred Bear'67 Chevrolet191650running0
81215   Ed Hessert Ed Hessert'68 Plymouth189600running0
91608   E.J. Trivette E.C. Reid'69 Chevrolet189550running0
101445   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'68 Ford189500running0
111970   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'67 Buick187475running0
121333   Wayne Smith Archie Smith'69 Chevrolet179450running0
132119   Henley Gray Harry Melton'68 Ford178425running0
141710   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford177400running0
152647   Cecil Gordon Bill Seifert'68 Ford176390running0
162076   Ben Arnold Don Culpepper'68 Ford173380running0
172309   Dick Watson E.C. Reid'67 Chevrolet171370brakes0
182426   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'67 Ford144360running0
19 630   Dave Marcis Milt Lunda'69 Dodge139350running0
201184   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'68 Ford139340engine0
213134   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'67 Ford128330crash0
221025   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'68 Plymouth118320ignition0
232723   Paul Dean Holt Don Robertson'67 Ford98310engine0
241811   Roy Hallquist Roy Hallquist'68 Chevrolet97300engine0
25 243   Richard Petty East Tenn. Motors   (Petty Enterprises)'69 Ford96250rear end95
26150   Frank Warren Don Tarr'67 Chevrolet67250oil line0
272504   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'67 Oldsmobile46250oil leak0
282857   Bobby Mausgrover Ervin Pruitt'67 Dodge45250quit0
292264   Dub Simpson Elmo Langley'68 Ford17250overheating0
303086   Ed Negre Neil Castles'69 Dodge15250ignition0
312982   Mack Sellers Mack Sellers'67 Chevrolet1250engine0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  David Pearson111
  Richard Petty29695
  David Pearson9712428
  James Hylton1251317
  David Pearson13220069