Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs

1969 Motor State 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 24 of 54
Sunday, June 15, 1969 at Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, MI
250 laps on a 2.000 mile paved track (500.000 miles)

Time of race: 3:35:26
Average speed: 139.254 mph
Pole speed: 160.135 mph
Cautions: 7 for 35 laps
Margin of victory: 5 sec
Attendance: 46238
Lead changes: 35

Glossary    1969 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1969 standings

1 421   Cale Yarborough 60 Minute Cleaners   (Wood Brothers)'69 Mercury25017625running38
2 717   David Pearson Holman-Moody Racing'69 Ford25010100running57
3 543   Richard Petty Torino Talladega / East Tenn. Motors   (Petty Enterprises)'69 Ford2505875running0
4 298   LeeRoy Yarbrough Mercury Cyclone / Jim Robbins Special   (Junior Johnson)'69 Mercury2494100crash136
5 66   Charlie Glotzbach Cotton Owens'69 Dodge2493150running2
6 899   Paul Goldsmith Town & Country Dodge   (Ray Nichels)'69 Dodge2482500running4
72548   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Dodge2442102running2
83006   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge2421572running0
9114   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford2401422running1
103125   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'68 Plymouth2271452running0
111515   Ed Hessert Ed Hessert'68 Plymouth2241352running0
122634   Wendell Scott Scott Racing   (Wendell Scott)'67 Ford2161302running0
132070   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'67 Buick2111227running0
141361   Hoss Ellington Ellington Insulation Co.   (Hoss Ellington)'67 Mercury2101277running0
152908   E.J. Trivette E.C. Reid'69 Chevrolet2101127running0
162347   Cecil Gordon Bill Seifert'68 Ford2061077running0
173244   Bob Ashbrook Giachetti Brothers   (Richard Giachetti)'67 Ford1981052running0
183419   Henley Gray Harry Melton'68 Ford193977engine0
193830   Dave Marcis Dave Marcis'69 Dodge191927engine0
202223   Paul Dean Holt Dennis Holt'67 Ford187877engine0
212445   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'68 Ford183877engine0
222726   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'67 Ford165802running0
231676   Ben Arnold Don Culpepper'68 Ford155727lug bolts0
241032   Dick Brooks Dick Brooks'69 Plymouth150702engine0
25210   Dick Poling Don Tarr'67 Chevrolet143682engine0
263729   John Kennedy John Kennedy Chevrolet143677engine0
27 127   Donnie Allison Banjo Matthews'69 Ford115775engine9
28 371   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'69 Dodge94695engine0
293318   Dick Johnson Dick Johnson'68 Ford80692clutch0
30 922   Bobby Allison Hutton Scott Dodge   (Mario Rossi)'69 Dodge78635engine1
313673   Bobby Wawak Bobby Wawak'69 Dodge74657engine0
323538   Buddy Young Fred Bear'67 Ford62652oil line0
33289   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'69 Pontiac62647wheel bearing0
341996   Frank Warren Frank Warren'68 Ford55642head gasket0
351710   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford50637engine0
361464   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'68 Ford15657engine0
371203   Richard Brickhouse Dub Clewis'67 Plymouth11677crash0
381880   Wayne Gillette E.C. Reid'67 Chevrolet1622rear end0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  LeeRoy Yarbrough11313
  John Sears14141
  James Hylton15162
  Donnie Allison17182
  Bobby Allison19191
  Donnie Allison20223
  LeeRoy Yarbrough235533
  David Pearson56561
  LeeRoy Yarbrough578428
  Cale Yarborough85851
  Charlie Glotzbach86872
  LeeRoy Yarbrough88969
  Paul Goldsmith971004
  Donnie Allison1011044
  Cale Yarborough1051073
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1081081
  Cale Yarborough1091146
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1151195
  Cale Yarborough1201201
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1211222
  Cale Yarborough1231231
  David Pearson12417148
  Cale Yarborough1721732
  LeeRoy Yarbrough1741807
  Cale Yarborough1811866
  LeeRoy Yarbrough18720317
  Cale Yarborough2042041
  David Pearson2052051
  LeeRoy Yarbrough2062138
  David Pearson2142207
  Cale Yarborough22123111
  LeeRoy Yarbrough23224312
  Cale Yarborough2442463
  LeeRoy Yarbrough2472471
  Cale Yarborough2482503