Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1969 Mason-Dixon 300

Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 29 of 54
Sunday, July 6, 1969 at Dover Downs International Speedway, Dover, DE
300 laps on a 1.000 mile paved track (300.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:35:28
Average speed: 115.772 mph
Pole speed: 130.43 mph
Cautions: 4 for 27 laps
Margin of victory: 6 laps +
Attendance: 22000
Lead changes: 7

Glossary    1969 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1969 standings

1 343   Richard Petty East Tenn. Motors   (Petty Enterprises)'69 Ford3004725running150
2 490   Sonny Hutchins Billmyer Ford   (Junie Donlavey)'67 Ford2942050running0
3 948   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'69 Dodge2941275running0
4 84   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'69 Ford293825running0
52584   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'68 Ford287725running0
6 715   Ed Hessert Ed Hessert'69 Plymouth281675running0
71734   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'67 Ford277650running0
81010   Bill Champion Bill Champion'68 Ford275600running0
92845   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'68 Ford273585running0
101347   Cecil Gordon Bill Seifert'68 Ford273595running0
112719   Henley Gray Harry Melton'68 Ford267560running0
121670   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'67 Buick265575running0
132944   George Ashbrook Giachetti Brothers   (Richard Giachetti)'67 Chevrolet262540running0
143206   Neil Castles Neil Castles'69 Dodge261530running0
15 298   LeeRoy Yarbrough Junior Johnson'69 Ford223620crash124
16 549   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'68 Plymouth210560engine0
172304   Ken Meisenhelder Ken Meisenhelder'67 Oldsmobile183500rear end0
181276   Ben Arnold Don Culpepper'68 Ford155515engine0
19180   Frank Warren Don Tarr'67 Chevrolet128505engine0
202011   Roy Hallquist Roy Hallquist'68 Chevrolet93495oil leak0
213057   Bobby Mausgrover Ervin Pruitt'67 Dodge82460driveshaft0
221926   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'67 Ford71475engine0
23 117   David Pearson Holman-Moody Racing'69 Ford65890crash26
24 631   Buddy Young Fred Bear'67 Chevrolet65455engine0
25319   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'69 Pontiac65420rear end0
261464   Dub Simpson Woodfield Ford   (Elmo Langley)'68 Ford62440overheating0
272240   Jabe Thomas Bill Champion'67 Ford56410crash0
282482   George Davis Mack Sellers'67 Chevrolet24400quit0
291103   Richard Brickhouse Dub Clewis'67 Plymouth19415engine0
302123   Paul Dean Holt Don Robertson'67 Ford7380engine0
312686   Ed Negre Neil Castles'67 Plymouth2370ignition0
321525   James Cox Don Robertson'67 Plymouth1385engine0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  David Pearson155
  LeeRoy Yarbrough61510
  Richard Petty164227
  David Pearson436321
  LeeRoy Yarbrough64167104
  Richard Petty16821144
  LeeRoy Yarbrough21222110
  Richard Petty22230079