Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1968 Western North Carolina 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 36 of 49
Sunday, August 18, 1968 at Asheville-Weaverville Speedway, Weaverville, NC
500 laps on a 0.500 mile paved track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 3:23:34
Average speed: 73.686 mph
Pole speed: 88.409 mph
Cautions: 7 for 90 laps
Margin of victory: 3 laps +
Attendance: 10500
Lead changes: 7

Glossary    1968 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1968 standings

1 217   David Pearson Holman-Moody Racing'68 Ford5002150running456
2 571   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'67 Dodge4971270running1
32006   Neil Castles Neil Castles'67 Plymouth4721050running0
4189   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'67 Pontiac467850running0
52245   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'68 Ford457750running0
62625   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'67 Ford446650running0
71557   Ervin Pruitt Ervin Pruitt'67 Dodge446600running0
82493   Walson Gardner Walson Gardner'67 Ford438550running0
92334   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'66 Ford436500running0
10 61   Pete Hamilton A.J. King'68 Dodge418420oil pan0
112801   Paul Dean Holt Dennis Holt'67 Ford343380overheating0
12112   Bobby Allison Donald Brackins'66 Chevrolet275375transmission0
132550   Eddie Yarboro Eddie Yarboro'66 Plymouth271325lug bolt0
142988   George England Buck Baker'67 Oldsmobile235275rear end0
15218   Ed Negre Pee Dee Whs.   (Ed Negre)'67 Ford205200crash0
161264   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley / Henry Woodfield'66 Ford204200engine0
17 499   Paul Goldsmith Nichels Engineering   (Ray Nichels)'68 Dodge198225throttle41
18 748   James Hylton Hylton Engineering   (James Hylton)'68 Dodge198200crash0
191008   Bob Burcham E.C. Reid'66 Chevrolet190200engine0
201428   Earl Brooks Earl Brooks'66 Ford136200crash0
211620   Clyde Lynn Clyde Lynn'66 Ford132200engine0
22 122   Darel Dieringer Mario Rossi'68 Plymouth119800engine2
231376   Tiny Lund Don Culpepper'66 Ford93200vibration0
241751   Stan Meserve Margo Hamm'67 Dodge91200overheating0
251970   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'67 Buick56200engine0
26 343   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'68 Plymouth52425a frame0
272738   Wayne Smith Archie Smith'68 Chevrolet35150driveshaft0
28 84   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'67 Ford33150engine0
29 949   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'67 Plymouth14150engine0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Darel Dieringer122
  David Pearson33937
  Paul Goldsmith406324
  David Pearson6412865
  Paul Goldsmith12914517
  David Pearson1461472
  Bobby Isaac1481481
  David Pearson149500352