Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1967 Gwyn Staley 400

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 13 of 49
Sunday, April 16, 1967 at North Wilkesboro Speedway, North Wilkesboro, NC
400 laps on a 0.625 mile paved track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:40:16
Average speed: 93.594 mph
Pole speed: 104.603 mph
Cautions: 6 for 33 laps
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: 9400
Lead changes: 0

Glossary    1967 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1967 standings

1 126   Darel Dieringer Junior Johnson'67 Ford4005150running400
2 421   Cale Yarborough Wood Brothers'67 Ford3992275running0
3 829   Dick Hutcherson Bondy Long'67 Ford3961325running0
4 314   Jim Paschal Friedkin Enterprises   (Tom Friedkin)'67 Plymouth396825running0
5 61   Paul Lewis A.J. King'67 Dodge392625running0
6102   Bobby Allison Donald Brackins'65 Chevrolet391525running0
7 243   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'67 Plymouth389500running0
8 94   John Sears L.G. DeWitt'66 Ford387425running0
91248   James Hylton Econo Wash   (Bud Hartje)'65 Dodge386400running0
101611   J.T. Putney J.T. Putney'66 Chevrolet378325running0
112120   Clyde Lynn Clyde Lynn'66 Ford376425running0
121587   Buck Baker Buck Baker'66 Ford369275suspension0
132334   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'65 Ford368300running0
142445   Bill Seifert Bill Seifert'65 Ford368250running0
153476   Tiny Lund Don Culpepper'66 Ford364200running0
162263   Larry Manning Larry Manning'66 Ford362300running0
172838   Wayne Smith Archie Smith'66 Chevrolet357225running0
181364   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley / Henry Woodfield'66 Ford325225clutch0
192509   Max Ledbetter Garland Miller'66 Chevrolet319225running0
201946   Roy Mayne Tom Hunter'66 Chevrolet291225differential0
213157   George Poulos George Poulos'65 Plymouth271175differential0
222797   Henley Gray Henley Gray'66 Ford270200throttle0
233001   Paul Dean Holt Dennis Holt'66 Ford210200differential0
243275   Earl Brooks Gene Black'66 Ford203175engine0
252018   Dick Johnson Dick Johnson'66 Ford178200engine0
26 56   David Pearson Cotton Owens'67 Dodge134200overheating0
271867   Buddy Arrington Buddy Arrington'65 Dodge126200overheating0
28 799   Paul Goldsmith Nichels Engineering   (Ray Nichels)'67 Plymouth95200ignition0
292640   Eddie Yarboro Eddie Yarboro'65 Dodge85200driveshaft0
301725   Sam McQuagg Don Robertson'67 Ford50175overheating0
312935   Harold Stockton Ken Carpenter'65 Oldsmobile49175engine0
321439   Friday Hassler Red Sharp'66 Chevrolet31175clutch0
331149   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'66 Plymouth4250engine0
343332   Larry Miller Larry Miller'65 Dodge1150brakes0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Darel Dieringer1400400