Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1965 Australian Touring Car Championship

Previous race results
Next race results                     Next at this track


Australian Touring Car Championship race number 1 of 1
Sunday, April 11, 1965 at Sandown Raceway, Melbourne, Victoria
40 laps on a 3.100 kilometer road course (124.000 kilometers)

Time of race: 0:56:39.70
Average speed: 131.306 kph
Pole time: 80.9 seconds
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1965 Australian Touring Car Championship results   /   1965 standings

1134   Norm Beechey Neptune Racing TeamFord Mustang40running33
2 51   Ian Geoghegan Total TeamFord Cortina Mk I Lotus39running0
3 410   Brian Muir Heldon MotorsHolden EH Special S439running0
4 618   Allan Moffat Allan Moffat RacingFord Cortina Mk I Lotus39running0
5 221   John Raeburn Ford Galaxie39running0
62   Peter Manton Neptune Racing TeamMorris Cooper S39running0
76   John Harvey Austin Cooper S38running0
8    Jim Russell Morris Cooper S37running0
946   Clem Smith Chrysler Valiant37running0
10    Robin Pare Ford Cortina Mk I Lotus35running0
11    Ken Hastings Holden 48-21533running0
12    Ron McLean Holden 48-21533running0
13    Ewen Frazer Morris Cooper32running0
14    Dick Roberts Chrysler Valiant32running0
15    Brian Foley Morris Cooper S32running0
16 33   Jim McKeown Neptune Racing TeamFord Cortina Mk I Lotus34crankshaft0
17 15   Bob Jane Ford Mustang23overheating7
18    Stan Starcevich Holden EH Special S414differential0

Fastest Lap: 80.800 seconds by Norm Beechey

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bob Jane177
  Norm Beechey84033