Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 38 of 55
Friday, August 13, 1965 at Smoky Mountain Raceway, Maryville, TN
200 laps on a 0.500 mile dirt track (100.000 miles)

Time of race: 1:31:40
Average speed: 65.455 mph
Pole speed: 77.62 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 4 laps +
Attendance: n/a
Lead changes: 3

Glossary    1965 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1965 standings

1 329   Dick Hutcherson East Tenn. Motor Co.   (Holman-Moody Racing)'65 Ford2001000running81
21188   Buddy Baker Buck Baker'64 Dodge196600running0
3 243   Richard Petty Petty Enterprises'64 Plymouth195400running117
41082   Jim Hunter Casper Hensley'64 Pontiac191300running0
5 51   Paul Lewis Paul Lewis'64 Ford186275engine0
6 111   Ned Jarrett Bondy Long'65 Ford186240running0
71868   Bob Derrington Bob Derrington'63 Ford179200running0
8 819   J.T. Putney Herman Beam'65 Chevrolet177175running0
9 46   David Pearson Cotton Owens'65 Dodge169150ball joint2
101620   Clyde Lynn Clyde Lynn'64 Ford168140running0
112089   Neil Castles Buck Baker'65 Oldsmobile157130running0
121264   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'64 Ford143120differential0
131534   Wendell Scott Wendell Scott'63 Ford122110radiator0
14 749   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'64 Ford113100steering0
15 687   Buck Baker Buck Baker'65 Chevrolet51100con arm0
162453   Jimmy Helms David Warren'63 Ford45100head gasket0
17 917   Junior Spencer Jerry Mullins'64 Ford40100radiator0
18239   Roy Tyner Roy Tyner'65 Chevrolet37100sway bar0
191452   E.J. Trivette Jess Potter'63 Chevrolet30100valve0
20170   Walson Gardner Roy Tyner'65 Chevrolet30100battery0
211999   LeeRoy Yarbrough Gene Hobby'64 Dodge25100a frame0
221367   Pee Wee Ellwanger Buddy Arrington'64 Dodge20100lug bolts0
232197   Henley Gray Gene Cline'64 Ford14100differential0
242262   Buddy Arrington Buddy Arrington'64 Dodge1100bell housing0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Richard Petty1117117
  David Pearson1181192
  Dick Hutcherson12020081