Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (1)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 29 of 37
Sunday, August 22, 1954 at Bay Meadows Speedway, San Mateo, CA
250 laps on a 1.000 mile dirt track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 3:50:48
Average speed: 64.71 mph
Pole speed: 75.566 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: n/a
Attendance: 10000
Lead changes: n/a

Glossary    1954 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1954 standings

1 114   Hershel McGriff Frank Christian'54 Oldsmobile2502425running249
22028   Bill Amick Frank Dodge'53 Oldsmobile2501500running0
3 812   Dick Rathmann Don Oliver'53 Oldsmobile249900running0
4 668   Allen Adkins Gus Davis'54 Dodge249700running0
51542   Lee Petty Petty Enterprises'54 Chrysler247500running0
6 492   Herb Thomas Herb Thomas'54 Hudson247400running0
7 73   Danny Letner Joe Bearscheck'52 Hudson245300crash0
81833   Lloyd Dane Lloyd Dane'53 Hudson244200running0
92484   Robert Caswell Lou Mangini'52 Plymouth244200running0
10 298   Marvin Panch John Fernandez'54 Dodge244200running0
11 32   Jim Graham George Bignotti'54 Oldsmobile239150running0
121465   Chuck Meekins Larry Dorsey'52 Oldsmobile238150running0
1310   Charles Pemberton Bill Payne'53 Dodge237100running0
141216   Tony Nelson Joe Savatier'53 Hudson236100running0
152188   Woody Brown Joe Mangini'50 Oldsmobile235100running0
161999   Joe Valente Joe Mangini'50 Oldsmobile233100running0
1787   Buck Baker Slick Smith'54 Cadillac231100running0
18136   Ben Gregory Chris Milovich'54 Oldsmobile22850running0
191197   Fred Bince Fred Bince'53 Dodge22650running0
2089   Bill West Danny Letner'51 Hudson22550running0
212552   Eddie Pagan Eddie Pagan'52 Plymouth22340running0
224125   Erick Erickson Erick Erickson'54 Buick21540running1
2310X100   Blackie Pitt Gary Drake'54 Oldsmobile21440running0
2433-X   Bob Deehan '53 Dodge21340running0
257   Jim Heath Allen Heath'54 Ford21040rear end0
26171   Al Neves Al Neves'51 Mercury21040running0
2715   Sam Hawks Chet Chiroso'50 Plymouth20340running0
28 973   Art Watts '54 Hudson20040gasket0
2951   Rick Henderson Ray Henderson'51 Ford19940running0
3060   Howard Phillippi Leroy Weyher'51 Hudson19940running0
3150   Jim Cook Leroy Weyher'50 Oldsmobile18440running0
3241   Ernie Young Walt Palozi'51 Plymouth17840running0
3390   Ted Lee Ted Lee'50 Ford16440running0
34 54   John Soares Charles Vance'54 Dodge16040crash0
3511   Dick Carter Dick Carter'51 Hudson15440wheel0
3677   Bill Bade '52 Plymouth14440running0
3731   Red Ortwein '51 Hudson14440overheating0
3816099   Dick Zimmermann Les Brand'54 Mercury12140engine0
3935   Bill Smith F.W. Smith'51 Hudson8340piston0
4019   George Rogge George Rogge'50 Oldsmobile6440crash0
418   Ed Normi Jack Beumer'53 Dodge3940engine0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Bud Kelleher111Frazer

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Hershel McGriff17373
  Erick Erickson74741
  Hershel McGriff75250176