Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (3)

Crew Chiefs

1952 Motor City 250

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 17 of 34
Sunday, June 29, 1952 at Michigan State Fairgrounds, Detroit, MI
250 laps on a 1.000 mile dirt track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 4:10:23
Average speed: 59.908 mph
Pole speed: 70.23 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: .5 lap
Attendance: 23000
Lead changes: 4

Glossary    1952 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1952 standings

11691   Tim Flock OK Motors   (Ted Chester)'51 Hudson2505050running162
23489   Buddy Shuman B.A. Pless'52 Hudson2502225running1
31792   Herb Thomas Fabulous Hudson Hornet   (Herb Thomas)'51 Hudson2491000running0
4252   Bill Blair George Hutchens'52 Oldsmobile249600running0
53799   Pat Kirkwood San Juan Motors   (Pat Kirkwood)'51 Chrysler246500running0
63177   Dick Passwater Frank Arford'52 Oldsmobile243400running0
7463   Hershel McGriff Beryl Jackson'52 Oldsmobile238300running0
82673   Stewart Joyce Stewart Joyce'52 DeSoto229200running0
9414   Otis Martin Otis Martin'52 Plymouth226100running0
10 834   Ted Chamberlain Bill Caltrider'51 Plymouth226100running0
1118121   Frank Mundy Walt Chapman'52 Hudson22550running0
12288   Gene Comstock Fry Motors   (Gene Comstock)'52 Hudson22450running0
132522   Perk Brown R.G. Shelton'51 Hudson22350running0
143398   Billy Myers Strictly Stock Car Race   (Joe Hawkins)'51 Plymouth22050running0
15 716A   Charlie Hill Victory Stadium   (Charlie Hill)'51 Ford21750running0
162155   Bub King Carl Lay Motors   (Bub King)'52 Hudson21650running0
1744118   Bucky Sager Ed Benedict'51 Hudson21650running0
18 6162   Fred Bethune Fred Bethune'52 DeSoto20950running0
191184   Red Duvall Hank Salat'51 Packard20550steering0
204541   Jimmie Lewallen R.G. Shelton'52 Hudson20350running0
211940   Tommy Thompson Tommy Thompson'52 Hudson19025running0
224313   Dick Stacey Jack Fisher'52 Chrysler17525running0
23 511   Ray Chase Dave Kennedy'51 Lincoln17325tie rods0
241427   Bill Pruitt James Barnes'52 Nash16925engine0
251582   Joe Eubanks Oates Motor Co.   (Phil Oates)'52 Hudson16725axle0
26387   Bud Koehler Walter Martinson'51 Nash14025overheating0
27 359   Lloyd Moore Race Motor   (Julian Buesink)'50 Ford13725wheel0
281226   John Scarfo Detroit Kaiser Dealers.'51 Kaiser13525running0
2910897   Norman Lynch Detroit Fairgrounds / Air Lift   (Norman Lynch)'52 Willys13025crash0
30361   Bill Holland Robert McGrath'51 Hudson12325wheel0
312024   Ray Duhigg Southern Motors   (J.O. Goode)'51 Plymouth12025running0
323042   Lee Petty Race Motor   (Petty Enterprises)'52 Chrysler10075wheel43
333953   Jack Fisher Jack Fisher'52 Oldsmobile9525crash0
3440421   Jack Reynolds Wiss Brothers'52 Plymouth85250
354754   Don Rudolph Irvington Willys Co.'52 Willys82250
3646174   Bill Rexford Jim B. Copperheat'51 Nash82250
373274   Leon Meadows Stewart Joyce'52 Plymouth67250
38 1120   Dick Rathmann Hudson Hornet   (Walt Chapman)'51 Hudson64175overheating44
39 46   Bob Pronger Nash Dealers of Greater Detroit'52 Nash4925dnf0
40 933   Ed Westveer Dave Kennedy'52 Mercury4525dnf0
414525   Gib Orr J.E. Peters'51 Hudson43 dnf0
422365   Jim Fiebelkorn Ken Whitney'51 Ford35 dnf0
432743   Paul Newkirk Paul Newkirk'51 Nash27 dnf0
442220   Roger Attard Roger Attard'52 Hudson25 dnf0
4529111   Robbie Robinson Robbie Robinson'51 Hudson20 dnf0
464478   Bob Moore Bob Moore'52 Oldsmobile16 dnf0
47 214   Fonty Flock Air Lift   (Frank Christian)'52 Oldsmobile10 tie rod0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Dick Rathman14444
  Lee Petty458743
  Tim Flock8811023
  Buddy Shuman1111111
  Tim Flock112250139