Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 35 of 41
Sunday, October 14, 1951 at Oakland Stadium, Oakland, CA
250 laps on a 0.625 mile dirt track (156.250 miles)

Time of race: 1:59:03
Average speed: 78.748 mph
Pole speed: n/a
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 3 laps +
Attendance: 12000
Lead changes: 5

Glossary    1951 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1951 standings

1 418   Marvin Burke Bob Phillippi'50 Mercury2501875running156
284   Robert Caswell Lou Mangini'50 Plymouth2471250running24
388   Woody Brown Joe Mangini'50 Oldsmobile900running0
455   Sam Hawks Marvin Panch'50 Plymouth600running0
59   Dick Meyer Grant Sniffen'50 Mercury450running0
656   Marvin Panch Marvin Panch'50 Mercury350running0
733   Lou Figaro Jack Gaynor'51 Hudson200running39
848   Bill Norton Larry Bettinger'50 Mercury150running0
941   John Soares Harry Schilling'50 Mercury125running1
1038   Walt Davis Walt Davis'50 Plymouth100running0
1114   Fonty Flock Red Devil   (Frank Christian)'51 Oldsmobile750
127   Fred Bince Speedway Auto Sales   (Chuck Meekins)'51 Hudson500
1316   Fred Steinbroner Bob Carpenter'50 Ford250
146   Bill Ledbetter Bill Ledbetter'50 Ford250
1522   Lloyd Dane Lloyd Dane'51 Ford20225crash0
1619   Les Bomar V-Gap Spark Plugs   (Les Bomar)'49 Pontiac250
17    Hal Cole '51 Plymouth250
1835   Fuzzy Anderson Bert Letner'51 Hudson250
192   Danny Weinberg Tony Sampo'51 Studebaker250
20 1120   Dick Rathmann Walt Chapman'51 Hudson2530
2166   Bud Riley Northeast Motors   (Joe Beccue)'51 Hudson250
2225   Erick Erickson Advance Electric   (Erick Erickson)'48 Pontiac250
2327   Jim Byrd El Paso Special'49 Buick15925crash0
24    Pug Blalock Pug Blalock'51 Henry J250
25    Claude Wallington '50 Plymouth250
263   Allen Heath Allen Heath'50 Plymouth250
2736   Danny Letner Bert Letner'51 Hudson250
2895   Freddie Farmer Freddie Farmer'51 Nash25crash0
2931   Lloyd Porter Stan Noble'51 Henry J250
30    Bill Amberg Bill Amberg Engl. Austin9425crash0
3177   Hershel McGriff Hershel McGriff'51 Oldsmobile25mechanical0
322jr   George Seeger George Seeger'51 Studebaker25crash0
3354   Andy Pierce '49 Plymouth25crash0
3417   Al Jacobs Al Jacobs'50 Ford25mechanical0
3572   Bill Stickler J & M Garage'48 Hudson25mechanical0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Dick Rathman13030
  Lou Figaro316939
  Robert Caswell709324
  Marvin Burke9412027
  John Soares1211211
  Marvin Burke122250129