Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 6 of 41
Sunday, April 22, 1951 at Arizona State Fairgrounds, Phoenix, AZ
150 laps on a 1.000 mile dirt track (150.000 miles)

Time of race: 2:21:16
Average speed: 60.153 mph
Pole speed: 70.936 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: .25 mile
Attendance: 10000
Lead changes: 3

Glossary    1951 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1951 standings

16   Marshall Teague Fabulous Hudson Hornet   (Marshall Teague)'51 Hudson1501275running128
211   Erick Erickson Advance Electric   (Erick Erickson)'48 Pontiac150800running0
391   Tim Flock Black Phantom   (Ted Chester)'51 Oldsmobile149600running0
4 114   Fonty Flock Red Devil   (Frank Christian)'50 Oldsmobile500running22
59   Dick Meyer Grant Sniffen'50 Mercury300running0
6114   Danny Weinberg Coast Grain   (Danny Weinberg)'51 Hudson200running0
762   Ed Camrud Douglas Ezell'49 Mercury150running0
818   Bill Holland Brazee Used Cars'51 Pontiac125running0
912   George Seeger Esquire Motors   (Leland Colvin)'50 Ford100running0
102   Bill Stammer Charles Roscoe'49 Plymouth100running0
1116   Fred Steinbroner Bob Carpenter'48 Ford250
1222   Lloyd Dane Lloyd Dane'49 Ford250
1328   Dudley Froy Dudley Froy'49 Plymouth250
1419   Hal Cole Stephens Motors'51 Plymouth250
1575   Bill Flatcher Vaughn Motors Yuma'51 Mercury250
1672   Bill Stickler J & M Garage'48 Hudson250
171269   Fred Bince Cliff Caldwell'48 Ford25running0
1823   Frank Oviado '49 Ford250
1965   Pat Wade P.V. McDonald'47 Frazer250
2099   Al King Golding Goodyear Tire'49 Ford7125crash0
2133   Lou Figaro Jack Gaynor'51 Hudson25wheel0
2292   Herb Thomas Sanford Motors   (Herb Thomas)'50 Plymouth250
2341.5   Bill Blair Bill Blair'50 Oldsmobile250
2477   Ernie Dietzman Perkins Motors'48 Hudson250
2526   Leland Colvin Leland Colvin'50 Plymouth250
2642   Lee Petty Petty Special   (Petty Enterprises)'50 Plymouth250
273   Stan Noble Stan Noble'51 Mercury250
28120   Dick Rathmann Walt Chapman'50 Ford250
2998   Johnny Mantz Johnny Mantz'51 Nash250
3025   Bill Cheesbourg '49 Lincoln25crash0
3110   Chuck Meekins Speedway Auto Parts   (Smith & Jones)'49 Plymouth225crash0
321   Walt Sprague Police Special   (J.B. Watkins)'49 Ford 0
3354   Andy Pierce Upshaw's Garage   (Andy Pierce)'48 Buick 0

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Ed Lebart7Speedway Auto SalesEd LebartPlymouth
Leo Breithaupt8Dan BreithauptFord
Art Bisch11Art BischOldsmobile
Jay Barker14Arizona Credit Co.Jay BarkerFord
Al Jacobs17Al JacobsFord
Bud Lovell23Bud LovellFord
Danny Letner39Modern Body WorksBert LetnerPlymouth
Owen Gray61Owen GrayCadillac
Douglas Ezell62Douglas EzellMercury
Jack McAfee118Jack McAfeeCadillac
DCAllen Heath10Speedway Auto PartsSmith & JonesPlymouth
DCJim Rigsby33Jack GaynorHudson
DCFrank Oviado65P.V. McDonaldFrazer
WDBill Ledbetter26Bill LedbetterFord
WDClarence Auckly91Stewart MotorsStudebaker

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Fonty Flock11414
  Marshall Teague157258
  Fonty Flock73808
  Marshall Teague8115070