Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 5 of 41
Sunday, April 15, 1951 at Occoneechee Speedway, Hillsborough, NC
150 laps* on a 1.000 mile dirt track (150.000 miles)

Time of race: 1:10:20
Average speed: 80.889 mph
Pole speed: 88.287 mph
Cautions: 1 for 7 laps
Margin of victory: .75 lap
Attendance: 11247
Lead changes: 0

Glossary    1951 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1951 standings

1 114   Fonty Flock Red Devil   (Frank Christian)'50 Oldsmobile951250running95
2 723   Frank Mundy Perry Smith'51 Studebaker95800running0
3 241.5   Bill Blair Bill Blair'50 Oldsmobile600running0
4 391   Tim Flock Black Phantom   (Ted Chester)'51 Oldsmobile500running0
5 552   Neil Cole John Golabek'50 Oldsmobile300running0
617110   Earl Moss Police Special   (J.B. Watkins)'50 Ford2000
7 992   Herb Thomas Sanford Motors   (Herb Thomas)'50 Plymouth1500
81371   Jim Paschal Sam Rice'49 Oldsmobile1250
92042   Lee Petty Petty Special   (Petty Enterprises)'49 Plymouth1000
101555   Glenn Dunaway Glenn Dunaway'50 Plymouth1000
11182   Ewell Weddle Ewell Weddle'50 Ford250
122250   Bill Joslin Bill Joslin'49 Lincoln250
132972   Weldon Adams Harold Mays'50 Plymouth250
14 411   Fireball Roberts Sam Rice'50 Oldsmobile25wheel0
153166   Red Ryder Pappy Hough'49 Ford250
1626144   Johnny Grubb Johnny Grubb'50 Plymouth250
173337   Coleman Lawrence Mitchell Motor Co.   (Coleman Lawrence)'50 Ford250
182410   Jim Fiebelkorn Jim Fiebelkorn'49 Mercury250
191960   Bill Rexford Julian Buesink'50 Mercury25wheels0
201259   Lloyd Moore Buesink Police Special   (Julian Buesink)'49 Ford25overheating0
21144   Joe Jernigan Lambert's Auto   (Joe Jernigan)'49 Ford250
223019   Bill Schade Bill Schade'51 Oldsmobile250
232890   Shorty York Russ Loh'50 Plymouth250
242726   Jimmy Thompson Leland Colvin'50 Plymouth250
25101   Walt Sprague Police Special   (J.B. Watkins)'49 Ford25overheating0
26 662   Pepper Cunningham Pepper Cunningham'51 Hudson25wheel0
272141   Curtis Turner Nash Motor Co.   (Nash Motor Co.)'51 Nash25overheating0
282345   Eddie Anderson Nash of Blue Island   (Eddie Anderson)'51 Nash25overheating0
292515   Ben Dixon Wesley McBell'50 Lincoln250
30119   Frank Luptow Rocket   (Joe Winter)'50 Oldsmobile1825wheel0
311698   Bill Holland Southern 500 Winner   (Hubert Westmoreland)'50 Plymouth1310valve0
32 85   Ray Erickson Ed Hastings'49 Mercury0200
333279   Ray Pruitt Ray Pruitt'50 Dodge0100
* Race shortened to 95 laps due to rain.

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Fonty Flock19595