Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (1)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 2 of 41
Sunday, April 1, 1951 at Charlotte Speedway, Charlotte, NC
150 laps on a 0.750 mile dirt track (112.500 miles)

Time of race: 1:35:41
Average speed: 70.545 mph
Pole speed: 68.337 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 1 sec
Attendance: 10000
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1951 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1951 standings

1 741   Curtis Turner Nash Motor Co.   (Nash Motor Co.)'51 Nash1501000running104
22142   Lee Petty Petty Special   (Petty Enterprises)'49 Plymouth150700running0
3 46   Marshall Teague Fabulous Hudson Hornet   (Marshall Teague)'51 Hudson148450running0
41092   Herb Thomas Herb Thomas'50 Plymouth145350running0
5 888   Frank Luptow Rocket   (Joe Winter)'50 Oldsmobile143200running0
62072   Weldon Adams Harold Mays'50 Plymouth1421500
72677   Ewell Weddle Al Wheatley'49 Lincoln1421250
81111   Fireball Roberts Sam Rice'50 Oldsmobile1391000
91919   Joe Merola Joe Merola'51 Oldsmobile137750
103310   Jim Fiebelkorn Jim Fiebelkorn'49 Mercury136500
11250   Jimmie Lewallen Buddy Teasley'49 Lincoln135250
122226   Bill Harrison Bill Harrison'49 Plymouth133250
133697   Buddy Helms Buddy Helms'46 Hudson132250
14 998   Bill Holland Southern 500 Winner   (Hubert Westmoreland)'50 Plymouth13125crash0
151289   John DuBoise John DuBoise'51 Plymouth127250
162728   Slick Smith '51 Plymouth123250
17315   Ray Erickson Ed Hastings'49 Mercury120250
18 341.5   Bill Blair Bill Blair'50 Oldsmobile11725wheel0
192855   Bub King T.L. King'49 Ford98250
20 114   Fonty Flock Red Devil / Northside Body Shop   (Frank Christian)'50 Oldsmobile9725overheating46
21138   Bill Rexford Julian Buesink'49 Mercury96250
223064   Ken Klutzz '47 Ford95250
233279   Ray Pruitt Ray Pruitt'50 Dodge93250
242470   Lee Schneider '51 Kaiser64250
252338   Clyde Minter Clyde Minter'50 Chevrolet59250
262915   James Ward '50 Packard55250
271612   Guy Waller '50 Oldsmobile52250
281860   Walt Sprague Julian Buesink'50 Mercury46250
293439   John Barker Chaney Motors   (Ralph Chaney)'51 Henry J40250
301525   Speedy Thompson Leland Colvin'50 Plymouth39250
311780   Jim Paschal Julian Buesink'50 Oldsmobile39100
323576   Lloyd Dennis B-HAM   (Lloyd Dennis)'51 Oldsmobile3910crash0
33 291   Tim Flock Black Phantom   (Ted Chester)'51 Oldsmobile33100
34 623   Frank Mundy Perry Smith'51 Studebaker33100
351459   Lloyd Moore Buesink Police Special   (Julian Buesink)'49 Ford22100
363857   Felix Wilkes Felix Wilkes'49 Hudson18100
37 59   Ed Samples Sam Knox'49 Lincoln15100
384018   Eddie Anderson Nash of Blue Island   (Eddie Anderson)'51 Nash8100
3939110   Earl Moss J.B. Watkins'50 Ford3100
403716   Cliff Woodson '50 Oldsmobile010crash0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Fonty Flock14646
  Curtis Turner47150104