Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (2)

Crew Chiefs


Previous race results
Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


NASCAR Grand National race number 1 of 41
Sunday, February 11, 1951 at Beach & Road Course, Daytona Beach, FL
39 laps on a 4.100 mile road course (159.900 miles)

Time of race: 1:56:32
Average speed: 82.328 mph
Pole speed: 102.2 mph
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 1 mn 14 sc
Attendance: 14000
Lead changes: 1

Glossary    1951 NASCAR Grand National results   /   1951 standings

1 66   Marshall Teague Fabulous Hudson Hornet   (Marshall Teague)'51 Hudson391500running12
2 191   Tim Flock Esquire Motors   (Sam Knox)'50 Lincoln391000running27
3 314   Fonty Flock Red Devil   (Frank Christian)'50 Oldsmobile39600running0
41441.5   Bill Blair Bill Blair'49 Oldsmobile550running0
5 787   Buck Baker Griffin Motors   (Bob Griffin)'50 Oldsmobile450running0
6 955   Les Snow Les Snow'49 Lincoln3500
72241   Curtis Turner Nash Motor Co.   (Nash Motor Co.)'51 Nash2500
83016   Bill Snowden Police Special   (Bill Snowden)'50 Ford2000
91698   Johnny Mantz Don Willis Motors   (Johnny Mantz)'51 Nash1750
10 859   Lloyd Moore Julian Buesink'51 Lincoln1500
11131   Red Byron Wally Marks'50 Oldsmobile500
122183   Tommy Thompson San Juan Motors   (Tommy Thompson)'47 Chrysler500
131261   Bill Rexford Julian Buesink'50 Oldsmobile500
1468   Barney Smith Barney Smith'50 Plymouth500
151560   Don Eggert Julian Buesink'49 Ford500
162792   Herb Thomas Herb Thomas'50 Plymouth500
171925   Speedy Thompson Leland Colvin'50 Oldsmobile500
1877   Dick Linder John Marcum'51 Studebaker500
1928144X   Len Fanelli Len Fanelli'50 Plymouth500
203286   Eddie Sheeler '51 Hudson500
21138   Clyde Minter B.F. Goodrich   (Clyde Minter)'47 Buick250
223472   Weldon Adams Harold Mays'50 Plymouth250
23203   Rocky DiNatale Chick DiNatale'50 Oldsmobile250
248   Billy Carden Wheatley Motors   (Al Wheatley)'49 Lincoln250
2533101   Bucky Sager Bucky Sager'49 Plymouth250
263913   Elmer Wilson Elmer Wilson'50 Mercury250
272633   Fred Thompson '51 Mercury250
28188   Don Oldenberg Don Oldenberg'50 Packard250
29382-B   Jack Smith Hubert Westmoreland'50 Plymouth250
304194   Buck Clardy Louise Smith'50 Nash250
314042   Lee Petty Petty Special   (Petty Enterprises)'49 Plymouth250
324481-A   Pappy Hough Pappy Hough'50 Ford250
33110   Jim Fiebelkorn Jim Fiebelkorn'49 Mercury250
341131   Carson Dyer Carson Dyer'50 Oldsmobile25spun0
35139   Ray Thompson '51 Kaiser250
363194-A   Joe Rogers '50 Oldsmobile250
374273   Ed Rooney Ed Rooney'47 Ford250
381732   Alton Haddock Alton Haddock'51 Lincoln250
39 581   Ben Lalomia '50 Oldsmobile250
403534   Tip R. Key Tip R. Key'51 Kaiser250
412925-A   Jimmy Thompson Leland Colvin'50 Lincoln 0
4223   Mike Klapak Perry Smith'51 Studebaker 0
434346   Gordon Harvey J.P. Robertson'51 Henry J 0
44 49   Ed Samples Sam Knox'49 Lincoln 0
4585   Fireball Roberts '50 Plymouth crash0
462556   Joe Jernigan Lambert's Auto   (Joe Jernigan)'49 Ford crash0
4728   Bill Holland Nash Motor Co.'51 Nash camshaft0
483667   Earl Coleman Earl Coleman'50 Pontiac 0
4937111   Herschel Buchanan Herschel Buchanan'48 Nash 0
501870   Dawson Lechlider Dawson Lechlider'50 Oldsmobile 0
512357   Felix Wilkes Felix Wilkes'49 Hudson 0
52 250   Gober Sosebee Cherokee Garage   (Gober Sosebee)'50 Oldsmobile engine0
531088   Frank Luptow Rocket   (Joe Winter)'50 Oldsmobile 0
542418   Eddie Anderson Nash of Blue Island   (Eddie Anderson)'51 Nash 0
5510   Ray Duhigg Ray Duhigg'50 Plymouth wheel0

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Tim Flock12727
  Marshall Teague283912