Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1915 Astor Cup

Previous race results / Next race results                     Next at this track


AAA Champ Car Series race number 24 of 27
Saturday, October 9, 1915 at Sheepshead Bay Raceway, Sheepshead Bay, NY
175 laps on a 2.000 mile board track (350.000 miles)

Time of race: 3:24:42
Average speed: 102.59 mph
Pole speed: 115.756 mph
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 57 sec
Attendance: 70000
Lead changes: 6

Glossary    1915 AAA Champ Car Series results   /   1915 standings

1 55   Gil Andersen Stutz   (Stutz Motor Car Company)Stutz175 running69 
2 67   Tom Rooney Stutz   (Stutz Motor Car Company)Stutz175 running21 
3109   Eddie O'Donnell Duesenberg   (Duesenberg Brothers)Duesenberg175 running0 
42022   Tom Alley Ogren Motor CarDuesenberg175 running0 
51716   Pete Henderson DuesenbergDuesenberg175 running0 
61919   Carl Limberg DelageDelage / Delage175 running0 
7 44   Bob Burman Peugeot Auto Racing   (Bob Burman)Peugeot173 transmission27 
81314   Ora Haibe Sebring   (Miles & Gwin)Duesenberg149 running0 
91111   Ira Vail MulfordMulford / Duesenberg137 running0 
101415   Willie Haupt DuesenbergDuesenberg127 disqualified0 
11 22   Johnny Aitken Peugeot Auto RacingPeugeot121 water jacket28 
121620   Ralph DePalma StutzStutz105 piston0 
131212   Jack LeCain Pugh / DuesenbergDuesenberg78 clutch0 
14 810   Eddie Rickenbacker Maxwell / U.S. MotorsMaxwell55 bearing0 
15 11   Dario Resta Peugeot Auto RacingPeugeot51 connecting rod30 
16 76   Howdy Wilcox Peugeot Auto RacingPeugeot37 engine0 
171817   Eddie Pullen Maxwell / U.S. MotorsMaxwell28 connecting rod0 
18 98   Earl Cooper Stutz   (Stutz Motor Car Company)Stutz23 valve0 
191518   Ralph Mulford Peugeot Auto RacingPeugeot7 connecting rod0 
20 33   Barney Oldfield DelageDelage / Delage6 connecting rod0 
2121    Earl DeVore Peugeot Auto RacingPeugeot0 did not start0 

Relief Drivers:

Car #11: George Sebold

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
Ralph DePalmaMercedesMercedes / Mercedes
Harry GrantMaxwellMaxwell / Maxwell
Harry GrantSunbeam Motor CarSunbeam / Sunbeam
Hughie HughesF. R. P.Porter / Porter
Jack PeacockPeugeotPeugeot / Peugeot
Eddie PullenMercerMercer / Mercer
Glover RuckstellMercerMercer / Mercer
Gene StecherMercedesMercedes / Mercedes
Jean Porporato21F. R. P.Porter / Porter
Grover Bergdoll23Erwin SpecialMercedes / Mercedes
WDTom Orr10MaxwellMaxwell / Maxwell

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Dario Resta12828
  Tom Rooney294921
  Dario Resta50512
  Gil Andersen529241
  Johnny Aitken9312028
  Bob Burman12114727
  Gil Andersen14817528