Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1909 Wheeler-Schebler Trophy Race

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track


AAA Champ Car Series race number 11 of 24
Saturday, August 21, 1909 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Speedway, IN
100 laps* on a 2.500 mile dirt track (250.000 miles)

Time of race: 4:13:51
Average speed: 57.907 mph
Pole speed: n/a
Cautions: n/a
Margin of victory: 1 lap +
Attendance: 37000
Lead changes: 2

Glossary    1909 AAA Champ Car Series results   /   1909 standings

152   Leigh Lynch Jackson AutomobileJackson94 running47 
224   Ralph DePalma FiatFiat93 running0 
375   Bruce Keen MarmonMarmon crash0 
417   Harry Stillman MarmonMarmon running0 
558   Ray Harroun MarmonMarmon running0 
69   Barney Oldfield National "Old Glory"National running0 
762   Tobin DeHymel Stoddard-DaytonStoddard-Dayton running0 
823   Bert Miller Stoddard-DaytonStoddard-Dayton dnf0 
910   Charlie Merz National Motor VehicleNational crash0 
1053   Fred Ellis Jackson AutomobileJackson dnf0 
1135   Bob Burman BuickBuick dnf7 
1222   Jap Clemens Stoddard-DaytonStoddard-Dayton dnf0 
131   Herbert Lytle AppersonApperson running0 
148   Johnny Aitken National Motor VehicleNational40 cylinder40 
1537   Louis Chevrolet BuickBuick40 ignition0 
1655   Harry Stutz MarionMarion dnf0 
1776   Robert Drach AmericanAmerican dnf0 
1836   Lewis Strang BuickBuick dnf0 
192   William McCulla AppersonApperson dnf0 
* Race shortened to 94 laps due to track deterioration.

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Johnny Aitken14040
  Bob Burman41477
  Leigh Lynch489447