Skip to content
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):

Race Results

Qualifying Results

Loop Data Stats

Pit Stops

Video Links (0)

Crew Chiefs

1909 Lowell Trophy Race

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track


AAA Champ Car Series race number 15 of 24
Wednesday, September 8, 1909 at Merrimack Valley Course, Lowell, MA
30 laps on a 10.600 mile street course (318.000 miles)

Time of race: 5:52:01
Average speed: 54.202 mph
Pole speed: n/a
Cautions: none
Margin of victory: 1175.8 sec
Attendance: 100000
Lead changes: 6

Glossary    1909 AAA Champ Car Series results   /   1909 standings

11012   George Robertson Simplex AutomobileSimplex30 running25 
2 56   Al Poole IsottaIsotta30 running0 
3 67   Edward Parker FiatFiat30 running0 
4 34   Bob Burman BuickBuick30 running0 
51620   Charles Basle RenaultRenault30 running0 
6 911   Ralph DePalma FiatFiat30 running0 
7 45   Harry Grant AlcoAlco30 running1 
8 810   Fred Shaw KnoxKnox27 running0 
91518   Harry Cobe Lozier MotorLozier25 running0 
10 12   Robert Drach AmericanAmerican25 running0 
111114   Joe Downey KnoxKnox25 running0 
12171   Lewis Strang BuickBuick24 running0 
13 23   Hughie Hughes Allen-KingstonAllen-Kingston23 crash0 
141316   Herbert Lytle AppersonApperson10 camshaft2 
151215   Burt Shaw Stoddard-DaytonStoddard-Dayton10 axle0 
161417   Louis Chevrolet BuickBuick3 frame2 
17 78   Fred Belcher KnoxKnox0 dnf0 

Failed to qualify, withdrew, or driver changes:
WDH.A. De Vaux20RenaultRenault

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Louis Chevrolet122
  George Robertson375
  Herbert Lytle892
  George Robertson102617
  Harry Grant27271
  George Robertson28303