Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Xfinity | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (7)   Video Links (1)     Crew Chiefs
Page Sponsorship ($5)

1972 Southeastern 500

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Winston Cup race number 7 of 31
Sunday, April 9, 1972 at Bristol International Speedway, Bristol, TN
500 laps on a .533 mile paved track (266.5 miles)

Time of race: 2:50:18
Average Speed: 92.826 mph
Pole Speed: 106.875 mph
Cautions: 2 for 25 laps
Margin of Victory: 4 laps +
Attendance: 34,700
Lead changes: 6

Glossary    1972 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1972 standings

Fin St # Driver Sponsor / Owner Car Laps Money Status Led
28 80   George Altheide George Altheide'70 Dodge54395engine0
231505   David Sisco Charlie McGee'72 Chevrolet272465engine0
162110   Bill Champion Bill Champion'71 Ford417760running0
1 112   Bobby Allison Coca-Cola   (Richard Howard)'72 Chevrolet5008,325running458
6 614   Coo Coo Marlin Cunningham-Kelley   (H.B. Cunningham)'72 Chevrolet473825running16
122219   Henley Gray Henley Gray'71 Ford442800running0
26132   Dave Marcis IHRA   (Dave Marcis)'70 Dodge126690water pump0
5 724   Cecil Gordon Cecil Gordon'71 Mercury4741,325running0
102325   Jabe Thomas Don Robertson'70 Plymouth462850running0
111630   Walter Ballard Ballard Racing   (Vic Ballard)'71 Ford451810running0
17 931   Jim Vandiver O.L. Nixon'70 Dodge407500running0
25294   John Sears J. Marvin Mills Heating & Air   (J. Marvin Mills)'70 Plymouth147670rear end0
3 243   Richard Petty STP   (Petty Enterprises)'72 Plymouth4914,225running15
4 545   LeeRoy Yarbrough Jarrett Ford   (Bill Seifert)'71 Ford4831,720running0
242547   Raymond Williams Raymond Williams'71 Ford221430transmission0
81448   James Hylton Pop Kola   (James Hylton)'71 Ford470950running0
91149   G.C. Spencer G.C. Spencer'70 Plymouth466685running0
201057   David Ray Boggs David Ray Boggs'70 Dodge357470rear end0
71264   Elmo Langley Elmo Langley'71 Ford4701,065running0
13177   Dean Dalton Belden Asphalt   (Dean Dalton)'71 Mercury437540running0
192670   J.D. McDuffie J.D. McDuffie'71 Chevrolet387730ignition0
2 371   Bobby Isaac K & K Insurance   (Nord Krauskopf)'72 Dodge4965,350running11
21 472   Benny Parsons Madden Food Systems   (L.G. DeWitt)'71 Mercury320720engine0
272076   Ben Arnold Ben Arnold'71 Ford82405vibration0
142777   Charlie Roberts Charlie Roberts'70 Ford429530running0
153079   Frank Warren Frank Warren'70 Plymouth423770running0
22198   Ed Negre Ed Negre'70 Dodge315700engine0
292485   Ronnie Daniel Ronnie Daniel'70 Chevrolet41385oil leak0
301891   Richard D. Brown Ralph McNabb'72 Chevrolet32375engine0
182896   Richard Childress Richard Childress'71 Chevrolet403490running0

Failed to qualify or withdrew:
31Robert Brown58Chevrolet
32John Utsman37Dodge
33Johnny Halford32Dick BrooksPlymouth
34Ron Keselowski88Dodge
35Buddy Arrington67Dodge

Lap leader breakdown:
# Of
  Bobby Allison12626
  Bobby Isaac27326
  Coo Coo Marlin334816
  Bobby Allison49166118
  Bobby Isaac1671715
  Richard Petty17218615
  Bobby Isaac187500314