Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Xfinity | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (5)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs  

1983 Southern 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Winston Cup race number 22 of 30
Monday, September 5, 1983 at Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC
367 laps on a 1.366 mile paved track (501.3 miles)

Time of race: 4:03:52
Average Speed: 123.343 mph
Pole Speed: 157.187 mph
Cautions: 9 for 60 laps
Margin of Victory: 9.38 sec
Attendance: 65,000
Lead changes: 17

Glossary    1983 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1983 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
15   Dale Earnhardt   Bud MooreFord   Bud Moore
98   Joe Ruttman   Ron BenfieldPontiac   Buddy Parrott
75   Neil Bonnett   RahMoc EnterprisesChevrolet   Butch Mock
44   Terry Labonte   Billy HaganChevrolet   Dale Inman
88   Geoffrey Bodine   Cliff StewartPontiac   Darrell Bryant
47   Ron Bouchard   Jack BeebeBuick   David Ifft
9   Bill Elliott   Harry MellingFord   Ernie Elliott
22   Bobby Allison   DiGardBuick   Gary Nelson
11   Darrell Waltrip   Junior JohnsonChevrolet   Jeff Hammond
3   Ricky Rudd   Richard ChildressChevrolet   Kirk Shelmerdine
55   Benny Parsons   Johnny HayesChevrolet   Leo Jackson
7   Kyle Petty   Petty EnterprisesPontiac   Mike Beam
16   David Pearson   Bobby HawkinsChevrolet   Ricky Pearson
27   Tim Richmond   Raymond BeadlePontiac   Tim Brewer
42   Lennie Pond   Billy MatthewsBuick   Tony Glover
28   Cale Yarborough   Harry RanierChevrolet   Waddell Wilson

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!