Home | Drivers | Owners | Tracks | Sprint Cup | Xfinity | CWTS | KNPSW | KNPSE | IndyCar | ARCA | F1 | Tudor | Random
Links for this race (some data may be unavailable):
    Race Results     Qualifying Results   Loop Data Stats   Pit Stops
  Comments (8)   Video Links (0)     Crew Chiefs  

1978 Southern 500 crew chiefs

Previous race results / Next race results                     Previous at this track / Next at this track

NASCAR Winston Cup race number 22 of 30
Monday, September 4, 1978 at Darlington Raceway, Darlington, SC
367 laps on a 1.366 mile paved track (501.3 miles)

Time of race: 4:17:46
Average Speed: 116.828 mph
Pole Speed: 153.685 mph
Cautions: 9 for 72 laps
Margin of Victory: 3 sec
Attendance: 65,000
Lead changes: 21

Glossary    1978 NASCAR Winston Cup results   /   1978 standings

Crew Chiefs for this race:
NbrDriverOwnerCarCrew Chief
92   Terry Labonte   Billy HaganChevrolet   Darrell Bryant
88   Darrell Waltrip   DiGardChevrolet   Buddy Parrott
25   Ronnie Thomas   Don RobertsonChevrolet   Marshall Ralsten
8   Ed Negre   Ed NegreChrysler   Norman Negre
05   Bruce Hill   Harry ClaryOldsmobile   Don Hartzell
54   Lennie Pond   Harry RanierChevrolet   Herb Nab
41   Grant Adcox   Herb AdcoxChevrolet   George White
1   Donnie Allison   Hoss EllingtonChevrolet   Sheldon Pittman
48   James Hylton   James HyltonChevrolet   Kirk Shelmerdine
90   Dick Brooks   Junie DonlaveyMercury   Junie Donlavey
11   Cale Yarborough   Junior JohnsonOldsmobile   Tim Brewer
72   Benny Parsons   L.G. DeWittChevrolet   Jake Elder
43   Richard Petty   Petty EnterprisesChevrolet   Dale Inman
3   Richard Childress   Richard ChildressChevrolet   Cliff Champion

A note about crew chief data:   Crew chief data has been compiled from various sources and is unverified in some cases.  If you find an error or can fill in missing data please contact us.   Thanks!